NYC - Day 1 - Can You Tell I Have Issues?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
December 29th 2011
Published: December 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

NYC!!!



I don’t want to be ungrateful about free accommodations, especially in one of the most expensive cities in the world. But a bathroom that exits right onto the kitchen?? Dangerous. Ed’s most common phrase, ‘could you tell I had issues in there’? Come on! It’s bathroom, kitchen and living room, in about 150 square feet. And if it was just family, well, it wouldn’t be so bad. But Mylee has a roommate!!


So we get to Mylee’s apartment. The stairs are, well, not straight. I’m a bit nervous going in, but if Sayla stays here, it’s got to be ok. The place is great. We get cleaned up and head out to Char No. 4 for dinner. My sister looks the menu up online and guesses what we order! How predictable have we become? OK, I’m predictable. You know if there is risotto or a salad with goat cheese, that’s what I’m going to have. But there were multiple pork fat products on that menu and she nailed Ed’s order!! Smoked and fried pork nuggets. OK, that was easy! He wanted to go to Fatty Cue, but the thought of watching Ed eat half a
Before RestorationBefore RestorationBefore Restoration

High Line Before Restoration
pound of deep fried bacon just seemed wrong. Unless there was going to be more life insurance...

We plan out a full day. Which doesn’t start with coffee. How does a person live without coffee? We walk over to the subway station. Which Mylee claims takes 15 minutes. It is 30 minutes. And you know I am not wearing reasonable shoes. I have on very cute shoes. That are good for about a 6 hour day. We head for coffee at 11am. Got home at 11pm. NYC subways are great, nice and fast and entertaining! We go to Chelsea and see the High Line. Which is beyond cool. It’s an old railway track that is raised above the ground, and has been restored. I’m taking a ton of pictures. Mylee and Ed are walking around having deep conversations. Which I don’t really want to be a part of, and mostly can’t follow. They make these references which are obscure to what I will call normal people. Then they laugh at each other’s comments, and I’m totally lost. So I continue with the pictures. Then Ed offers me a challenge – take a good architectural picture and he will put
RestoredRestoredRestored

High Line Restored
it up in his office!!!! I have been trying to get a picture of myself in that office for years. And have given up. He prefers his wife to be mysterious. Hahaha. Or anonymous. But he is going to put up a photo I took! Exciting. So now I’m really taking pictures like crazy. And pretending he didn’t just say that to get rid of me.


So Brooklyn has soft water. TBagBay hair does not like soft water. So my usually large hair is flat today. Started out ok. A few hours outside and its droopy. Which Ed thinks is hilarious. Wait until Day 4...I'll have resorted to a hair clip!


The next stop is Eately! Another of Ed’s choices. This is the giant Mario Batali place. Pasta city. It’s a complete zoo. We go for the pizza and pasta. Very tasty! Had a big meal. But they have a gelato stand. I can't really walk past a gelato stand. So now it is about 6pm. And I’m tired! We’ve walked all over the place for about 7 hours. But Ed is not going home. He knows that if we go home, I’m not going out again. So off we go to the movies! Young Adult. Very good. Lots of uncomfortable moments. Ed and Mylee were both hiding at one point! Then off for a bit of shopping and then back to Brooklyn. And what do you know, the subway lets off right by the Shake Shack. And I wasn’t even hungry, but you put crinkle cut fries and a hot dog in front of me...


Super great day. Back at Mylee's. Now we are back to the exact same spot we were when we started the day. 1am. Time to go to bed. I go to brush my teeth. Crawl into bed. 'Could you tell I had issues in there'?


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

YumYum
Yum

Yum


29th December 2011

bathrooms
staying at Sheryl's in Mexico- she has 3 bathrooms. Pics of Mylee and Ed are great. both are very photogenic...Mylee's hair is not affected by the water. Do u have a pic of your hair?

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0632s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb