Touristy time in NYC


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
August 27th 2005
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lots of slow walking
South Street Seaport, Ground Zero
Makes for tired feet!

Maria and I headed into Manhattan and walked over to the South Street Seaport area where we checked out a few shops. And then we headed to the food fair to find something to eat for lunch. After lunch it was more browsing and checking out some of the street performers. It was really interesting watching those four break dancers. Man they are super fit. Wish I could add video to this blog because I took a short video clip that was just amazing. This one guy jumped over six women! Crazy. I don’t think I’d believe it unless I saw it with my own eyes…which by the way I did. haha

We did some more wandering around Ground Zero, Chinatown and Little Italy. Ground Zero is all fenced off. I didn’t feel right taking a picture so it’ll be one of those moments I’ll remember in my head. Quite a dramatic change in the area thinking back five years ago when I was here…

Chinatown is still the same. Crowded and smelly! We also toured around Little Italy where the streets were just packed with shoppers and eaters a like.

After we had enough wandering around we headed over to Confucious Plaza to visit with Maria’s parents and Uncle. Apparently they’re pretty excited to see me! It was nice to see them after 15 years. As predicted they’ve aged a bit. Maria’s dad was in the hospital for a bit recently and he was in petty bad shape - fainting spells. But he’s looking pretty good now.

Tonight we have plans to see Eric’s cousin Dave who is in town from California. Dinner is set in Chinatown. So I predict good eats are on the menu for sure. I got to meet Eric’s cousins and his two kids Jason and Mia and also some of their friends. Jason is six and quite the carnivore. Mia is three and a half and a little bossy princess but she is cute. 😊

Oh yes, I forgot to mention that we passed by a parkade earlier in the day and I saw that it costs $18.13 for the first hour of parking. I must note that it did get significantly cheaper the longer you parked there but still ree-dicerous I tell ya!



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

No photographs please!No photographs please!
No photographs please!

Jason, a little tired of having his photo taken.


Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0933s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb