Start spreading the news...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
March 16th 2011
Published: March 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello,
my name is Peter, I'm 25, Belgian and have just left on my first ever RTW trip.
Since this is my first ever trip out of Europe and at the same time my first solo trip, I must admit I am not entirely sure what I have gotten myself into ..
But at least now people cant blame me a lack of sense of adventure or whatever 😉

After the to be expected farewell parties and dinners, for which I thank all of you, I had a good time at all of them, I was finally all set to go.
So yesterday I left home, went to park my car at my parents place, who took me to Brussels airport. Picking up my sister along the way as a surprise, filling up the last seat in the goodbye comity.
At the airport checking in went surprisingly easy with my 7,5kg 30liter backpack as only luggage and coming with me as carry-on without any penalties for it being oversized/weight as I was told it would be...

On the plane I got the best seat possible, first row(yey extra leg room) next to the window at the left side.
I didn’t care much for being next to a window but when I looked outside during our final decent towards Newark Airport(ye I know, Jersey 😊 ) and had the most magnificent view ever of Manhattan with all of its skyscrapers and Liberty Island, I got this feeling of happiness and knew .. that this was only the beginning 😊

After clearing customs and leaving the airport(off course not before eating an all-American Subway sandwich) I took the train towards Manhattan, where the hostel, amongst other things, is located...
Got off the train and went up to street level and was pleasantly surprised by what I saw.
A big building( ye they have a lot of those here) with a big entrance with big letters over it saying 'Madison Square Garden'
Knowing that in two days, on the 17th, the Knicks are playing the Memphis Grizzlies in this arena, I hurried myself in to go and see if there were any tickets left available.
And lucky me, there were some in the price range I was hoping for(cheap ones ).

With a ticket secured and it being about 2pm I figured it would be a good idea to walk all the way to the hostel, which was just north of central park.
That being about 90blocks away, it turned out to be quite the hike.
However it took me along some cool places(Empire State, Rockefeller, Chrysler Building, NY apple store 😊, Central park which turned out to be huge etc.) and off course everything you’d expect NY to be(lots off people, food stances, traffic, photo shoots and beggars on the same block, big cars and big buildings).

At around 7pm I arrived at the hostel, where a very nice lady greeted me and showed me around.
After talking for a bit I went to my bed and tried to start writing on this blog entry but didnt manage to stay awake for more then ten minutes or so …

I know, I know.. I didn’t make a lot of pictures yet, but don’t worry as off next update I will add a jolly bunch of pictures so you can get a better idea of the places I am visiting.

So as you can see all is well until now and I am going to explore the big apple a bit now.
Cheers,
Peter.



Advertisement



16th March 2011

jaloers , jaloers , jaloers
peter der gaat geen dag voorbij in het magazijn (waar ik tijdelijk Bert vervang) zonder te zeggen STOND IK MAAR IN DE PIEJE ZEN SCHOENEN. zeker nu ik lees dat je de NY APPLE STORE hebt gezien begint dat groene kleurtje weer op men gezicht te verschijnen. ben benieuwd naar de foto's , vind ik die hier ook terug op het blog , of is er een externe link waar deze terug te vinden zijn? pieje het ga je goed op deze reis , en hoop veel tekst en beeld te krijgen via dit blog
16th March 2011

Yay!
Oh Peter, hope you have the best time of your life over there! Seems like quite and an adventure... Make yourself stop, enjoy, and take it all in!!!! Proud of you :-) (and jealous!)
16th March 2011

New york , here he is !!
Fijn iets te vernemen van je eerste dag en van de reis. Jij maakt ons wel wat jaloers hoor want New york staat ook op ons lijstje van to do. Peter, enjoy it , stuur ook eens wat foto's en vergeet ons niet en geniet ervan. Dikk kus van ons
17th March 2011

Hoi Zo te lezen gaan er een par toch wel heel jaloers op u zijn. Zoals jan en rob omdat jij in de apple store bent geweest. Is het daar echt zo groot als iedereen zegt. Hopelijk gaan er nog veel foto's volgen :-) dan zijn wij ook een beetje daar. En dan wilt Jan mss toch eens op vakantie ;-) Amuseer u
17th March 2011

Mac
Als jan wil zien hoe groot die winkel wel ni is moet em zelf ma kome kijke ;D Ma het is idd echt wel de moeite..
27th March 2011

Random
Hello Peter! You don't know me and I don't know you. Your post was displayed among other NY Travel Blogs and I've chosen it absolutely randomly. So far it looks quite interesting. Keep up the good work and don't abandon posting to your blog, I have this page saved and will wait for updates. Greetings from Czech Republic (though I'm not a Czech)!

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb