Day 2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
January 29th 2011
Published: January 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day 2 was my first full day in NYC! I woke up early because it was so so hot in our room. We don’t know how to turn our heater off, though I’ve had another fiddle with it. And even with our window open it’s not really cooling the room down at all, you just have to go over to it for some relief! Plus I’m on the top bunk so it’s probably even hotter up here! I made a note to try and find some more summery pjs cheap if I could!

I attempted to snooze a bit more, and before I knew it, it was 11! Got up and had a shower, then headed out!

Our street is off Central Park, so I had a walk through there. It was so unbelievably pretty with all the snow!! Absolutely stunning! Took some good photos!

Then walked down 5th Avenue, past Tiffany, Abercrombie etc, didn’t go in yet, I don’t wanna spend all my money on the 2nd day =P

Found my way down to about 42nd street, and knew I was meeting Madi and Mark for lunch, so I had to follow that across a little. I was running extremely late, and then got stopped by some guy collecting for charity… He wouldn’t leave me alone, so I gave him 3 bucks and ran!

I finally got to TGI’s, we quickly decided what we wanted an ordered. The waitress serving us was brilliant, so nice!! As much as I hate paying tips, it makes the service so much better! You don’t get service like that back in Melbourne, they get paid the same amount regardless; where here they rely on tips! Great!

After lunch, Madi and Mark headed off to continue house hunting. I decided to keep strolling around. I started with Forever 21 in Times Square, where I found some more gumboots for only 23 bucks. Mine weren’t wide enough at the top, so would bunch up around my ankles, and was giving me blisters! So I put them on straight away!

I then had a quick look in Sephora, an awesome make up store, then headed inside the Toy’s R Us store. It’s HUGE and has big moving T-Rex inside. Also a giant Ferris Wheel, which Madi and I plan on going on at some point!!

Kept wandering around, down to Macy’s, Victoria’s Secret (where I bought my lipglosses – normally $7 each, and it was 4 for $20!), another Forever 21 and H&M. Then realised I was right near the Empire State building, so I had a look in the lobby, took a couple of photos. Walked around the outside of the block surrounding it, and found a little pub, called Foley’s Pub! Something else Madi and I plan to do – have numerous drinks there!!

At about 4.30pm, I decided it was probably time to head back to the hostel, so I started walking, and looking for a cab to get back up to West 63rd… And it turns out, after all my talk about how it’s like the movies – stick your hand out and there’s a cab – at peak time in winter, its near impossible to get one… So I walked… and walked… and walked… Finally making it back to the hostel just as it got dark!

Headed up to my room, and had a rest – my feet were killing me at this point!!

After a short rest, we met up with a friend of Madi’s, Christie, who took us via subway down to the East Village. We had dinner in a small thai restaurant, then headed across the road to a bar called Arlene’s Grocery. It was pretty good, and we saw an aussie band play next door too. We then continued on to another bar with the band afterwards (they were a couple, about our age, really nice!) and drank some more!!

Ended up being a bigger night then we anticipated, and at around 3am, we decided it was probably time to head back to our hostel, especially considering we had to be up early enough to check out at 10 the following morning!!

Grabbed a cab, then stumbled into bed!

Advertisement



30th January 2011

Hey You...guess who used to play at Arlenes Grocery when he went to Manahttan, many years ago.....your boy Diesel. I had totally forgotten about it and you go there!!!! I remember an article where he said that he had "rounded up the teachers from the school to come and hear him play". If you didn't get a crowd to support you you wouldn't be asked back. Have fun.Sandraxxx
30th January 2011

Don't you dare go to shirtless man heaven (A&F) without me! We're SO getting photos with the "door men" every day! lol x x
31st January 2011

hey do u rememeber the name of the band u saw? i have mates playing over there at the mo...that wud b amusing..
31st January 2011

The Twoks was the band we saw, and Sandy, I can't believe Diesel played there!!!! That's amazing!!!

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1012.3kb