New York New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
December 29th 2010
Published: December 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My Flight out of JFK was canceled for tonight, apparently 9,000 flights were canceled in the past several days due to the weather. Luckily I got a flight for tomorrow evening, the agent said many will not be able to leave NY until Sunday. Mark graciously welcomed me for another night, Helena may have to get up in the wee hours of the morning to pick me up, or I will take a train to get to her...all's well that ends well😊
Today met up with Gilberte, Steve and his 2 daughters, Grace and Ashley. Mark and I met them for brunch. The restaurant only had one waffle iron working and 5/6 ordered waffles...poor Mark had to gobble down his food once it arrived, then headed off to work. I was invited and accepted the opportunity to see the 9/11 site. We took a cab...my first in NY😊 To the financial district, it was such a beautiful bright sunny day. Steve and James (cabbie) took turns jumping out of the car to wash the windshield with snow...quite comical😊 On arrival the 9/11 site is completely fenced off as there is construction galore, yet I could feel amazing uplifting feelings there, I could sense a very strong presence of powerful, grand angels, it gave me chills and tears of joy and sadness. We made our way to a financial building where much of the building was destroyed as well. There was a remarkable memorial fountain/statue/ see pic, with a large quartz crystal in the center suspended from 11 wires, in the pool were 11 names of American Express employees whom died, 11 drops fell into the water around the crystal randomly, with the tiny ripples reaching out. Made me feel so much for these people, their families, co-workers, people they served, its amazing how one person can have such an impact.
We heard a bit of the history of the buildings repair as much of it is/was glass, it felt sobering in there, not heavy or somber, it felt like a station that angels passed through. We were able to view where the twin towers were, there is a new building going up that apparently will be the tallest building in NY or the world...I am not good at storing those kinds of facts in my brain😊
Had a wonderful time with Gilberte, Steve, Grace and Ashley. Such smart, caring, authentic, fun, pretty young women with the world by the straps. Grace is living in Ireland...one of my fav places in Dublin as an Au Pair with hopes to find her husband there😊, and Ashley is a Physiotherapy assistant with hopes to become a yoga teacher and have her own set up some where nice. We had a great time together, I am so happy to have seen/met them all, so grateful actually.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



31st December 2010
011

Gorgeous memorial
Whoa! When I saw this, it took my breathe away...beautiful memorial (LB)
28th February 2011

Appreciation
In all of my work, I find the presence of one person is always so profound and most appreciated after death. Not you though...I appreciate you now! So much, xoxo

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb