You want fleas? We have a market


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
May 15th 2010
Published: May 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Central Park perqCentral Park perqCentral Park perq

The view from the press room at the SATC junket hotel. Pretty amazing.
I started the day with a New York breakfast - coffee and some weird guy in the street yelling at me. Or maybe it wasn't me. He was just yelling. I had a 10 a.m. date with a bus-full of Sex and the City fans, taking the SATC tour around the 'hoods and nabes where the series and first flick were shot. On paper, it was for work, to do a video to go with my story, but truth is, I love SATC as much as any gal and I was anxious to see the sites. While I waited to board the bus outside the Plaza Hotel (I will always love that headline in the New York Post when the Donald and Ivana were splitting and she wanted the hotel in the divorce- "Gimme the Plaza!") I scooted across the street to check out FAO Schwarz. Such a magical place - every toy imaginable. It's right next door to the other major toy outlet - the Apple Store (love ya, Stevie J).
I left the tour on Bleeker St. and headed uptown towards Hell's Kitchen to check out the weekend flea market. It was choc-a-block with bric-a-brac (I need one more
Plush menageriePlush menageriePlush menagerie

The almost life-sized zebras at FAO Schwarz cost something like $800. I bought two, but I was very smart and got two boys so I won't have dozens of little plushies galloping around the condo.
triple-hyphen cliche to win a fabulous prize!). Sure there was a lot of junk, but I love junk: seltzer bottles, a rather impressive amount of stuff that looked like it had been lifted from churches and oh my, the clothes! The Store With No Walls had first-class vintage: Pucci, Dior, Zac Posen, you name it. Rita and Mo would have gone into arrest on the spot. Get them a bottle of Prosecco - stat! I bought a terrific chrome deco ashtray. You know me and deco, kids. I got it for a sawbuck. Then I scooted back to the hotel to drop off and dust off and head back uptown to the SATC screening in the Time Warner building private screening room. I am revealing nothing - you can torture me if you want. Afterwards, there was a cocktail party with a glass or two of champagne. Nothing excessive. Sunday was going to be a very busy day.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Store with no wallsStore with no walls
Store with no walls

This stall was amazing. I wish I was rich. And a size 2.


Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0183s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb