Welcome to the concrete jungle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
May 16th 2010
Published: May 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Mr. Jean my jazz teacherMr. Jean my jazz teacherMr. Jean my jazz teacher

Mr. Jean, originally from Haiti, played me plenty of Wes Montgomery on the ride from Penn Station to my hotel. I took the train from Newark Airport to Manhattan - just $30 return.
I seem to learn something invaluable every time I got to New York, which, luckily, I manage at least once a year. This trip I learned about jazz from a cab driver (thank you Mr. Jean for playing me Wes Montgomery as we snuck along in heavy traffic Friday noonish) and I learned that Christian Loutoutin shoes may cost the Earth, but they pinch and hurt just like any old shoe - and they can't hold a candle to my $15 flip flops. Sorry, Mo, but that's the truth.
I was in New York for the press junket for Sex and the City 2, which you can read all about in the Toronto Star. (Plug, plug).
But it's not all work for a gal who also loves to play and I managed to strike just the right balance.
Oh yes, and other invaluable thing: fly Porter. Everything is free, from juice and latte in the lounge, to WiFi and a snack on the plane. A nice change from airlines that only seem to dispense one free thing these days - attitude. A shot hop from work, no need to get to the airport 3 hours ahead of time and the mascot
Pooped pupPooped pupPooped pup

I saw dogs everywhere - they love their pooches in New York. This one was shopping for bras at Century 21
is the only raccoon I've ever wanted to hug. Awww.
Today was pretty much free time and as luck would have it (!) my hotel was 2 blocks from what Rita Z calls heaven on Earth - Century 21. As I pawed the racks I came across another friend enjoying the paws that refreshes. Yes, New Yorkers take their dogs everywhere - including the bra department at Century 21.
I decided to stay near the World Trade Center - I usually like Chelsea or mid-town, but I got a great deal at a Thompson Hotel called Gild Hall and found it wasn't inconvenient at all to be this far south. I liked the quiet vibe - a nice change from the craziness you get father north.
I spent most of the day just wandering - hopping on the subway when I needed to cover some ground. The system is remarkably easy to navigate, but I find it always takes longer to get where you're going than you ever planned. In my case (knowing my sense of direction) this accounts for a) going the wrong way and b) getting trapped in an express train. But I always enjoy a visit to Harlem, so who's complaining? It also gave me chance to visit Brooklyn again (don't ask).
By the time night fell I was starving and wiped, so I headed across the street from my hotel to a place called Harry's Italian and had the best Orechetti with Sausage & Broccoli Rabe I've ever had - just perfect. And with it, a martini the size of a fish bowl. Happy, full and nicely martinied, I slept well.


Advertisement



17th May 2010

I accidentally stumbled upon your NY post, but I loved it because I'm from NY and it made me feel back at home for a moment! If you have the time, check out my community travel blog at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com. We're always looking for photos, reviews (like of Harry's Italian Restaurant! ;) , etc. Enjoy the rest of your time there, and good luck with the press junket... I worked in entertainment for many years and know how those things can be! Heather ;)

Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb