Christmas in New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
December 20th 2009
Published: December 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Christmas Tree at Rockefeller CenterChristmas Tree at Rockefeller CenterChristmas Tree at Rockefeller Center

The one and only 30 Rock Plaza.
Christmas in New York is unsurpassed in terms of a uniquely metropolitan experience - the lights, sights and iconic holiday displays. The rest of the winter is rather miserable, unless, of course, you come with the express purpose of enduring the cold, snowy, slushy mess that is Manhattan. I did not, and having spent the past two winters with my nose in a book or my fingers on a keyboard while staring out into the dark, dreary cloud layers, pounding out thoughts to finish off the semesters, I could not prevent the feelings of claustrophobia setting in. But (there's always a but) when all was said and done, after my extremities had thawed and there was no longer salt-laden ice melt threatening to ruin the hems of my pants with every venture outside, I realized that maybe the days between December and February aren't so bad, if you're prepared, and if you don't have anywhere in particular you need to be on the days during the Nor'easter blizzards and if you make the time to enjoy it. Satisfy those requirements and it can actually be quite charming.

First and foremost I had to make a pointed effort not to wish anyone a "Merry Christmas" because there was 50% or greater chance they aren't celebrating it. It's not so much that this is unusual, more that I'd never spent the holiday season anywhere where it was so noticeable before. It's all "Enjoy the New Year!" and "Happy Interfaith Winter Holiday!" My landlord decorated the stairwell is a amusing mixture of what I can only describe as "Christmannukah" which brought a smile to my face each as I ever time as I trudged my way upstairs trying to kick off as much smog-stained slush from my boots so as not to track it back with me. Staring out over the fire-escape from my sixth floor apartment I can look across the street and count the many menorahs lighting up window-sills at the same time that I see Christmas trees and brightly-colored lights decorating the windows of units above and below. Especially on the days that snowfall obliterates the view further out, it gives the street a cozy feel, like I'm standing in one multifarious, cosmopolitan living room.

And when I finally get the opportunity to venture out, there is plenty to do. The various 'touristy' things, which - don't let yourself
First Snow of the SeasonFirst Snow of the SeasonFirst Snow of the Season

Oh how excited I was as the first snowflakes fell near Astor Place. If only I had known what was in store!
be fooled - are also being enjoyed by the denizens of the five boroughs. First the skating rink in Bryant Park opens to the public and overnight the window displays on 5th Avenue transform in seasonal show-boxes of whim and fancy. Then the Rockettes begin performing in Radio City Music Hall and the tree lights up in Rockefeller Center. Before you know it, Central Park is covered in white and the sounds of sleds, and children shrieking and the snow-crunch of boots replaces the sound of falling leaves and bird-song.



At least, those were my thoughts in December 2009. It's Christmastime once again, but I've long since graduated, we have a house, our tree is up, family is in town and I'm scrolling through the unpublished blog list trying to catch-up and create a fresh start for the new year. So many entries languishing, partially written, waiting for the day when I can finish them up, and others collecting the proverbial dust as they slip further and further into the past. I'm struck by how much I've forgotten in the last five years. Reading the words was like discovering this time of life all over again - whisked back to that 300 sq ft apartment in the Upper East Side. Then back to the "Snowpocalypse" and "Snowmageddon" blizzards of 2010 and 2011 (making the opening observation of this blog a little premature, in hindsight). First time I'd ever experienced a blizzard. Then we got two. I'm accustom to snowfall in the mountains, but 19-22" in the city, overnight - it was amazing. The roads were quiet, subways stopped running, and people slowly emerged onto the street - work closed, businesses closed, schools closed. We woke early and went to the park as soon as the sun rose to witness the pristine fields of snow, undisturbed. I suppose that's why we blog and photograph in the first place - to capture and preserve the memories for our future selves. So - Merry Christmas and Happy New Year from the cusp of 2014/2015. I've finally allowed myself to let this one go - to preserve what it is, rather than configure it to meet my original expectations. Let's consider that the resolution for the year to come.



(Note regarding the photos: I'm normally not one to post duplicate photos of the same scene, but unfortunately a hard-disk crash destroyed the original images from several months of time - so only those uploaded to Travelblog before then survived (three cheers for that!). Also the reason none of them are edited)


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Christmas at Rockefeller CenterChristmas at Rockefeller Center
Christmas at Rockefeller Center

I normally wouldn't post a duplicate photo, but the originals were all lost in the hard-drive crash shortly after they were originally uploaded.
Home Sweet HomeHome Sweet Home
Home Sweet Home

The morning after the 2011 blizzard, and 19" of snowfall overnight.
Central Park Central Park
Central Park

After the schools closed for snow, it seems almost every child took their toboggan to Central Park. Officially the snowiest January on record for NYC. 2011
Red Doors Red Doors
Red Doors

I love a good door photo, even better a red door. Add in some snowfall - beautiful. Shutter speed a little snow though. Live and learn.
Snowball FightSnowball Fight
Snowball Fight

Andras in Central Park - Jan 2011
Me!Me!
Me!

Stopped off in Central Park for some photos on my way to the airport - even if it did require dragging my roller-board up a road when the bus got stuck and half-way through the park in the snow.
First Snowfall in NYCFirst Snowfall in NYC
First Snowfall in NYC

Celebrating the end of finals and the first snowfall of the season with my roommate
Window Displays on 5th AveWindow Displays on 5th Ave
Window Displays on 5th Ave

Love the reflection in the mirror!
Ice skating at Rockefeller CenterIce skating at Rockefeller Center
Ice skating at Rockefeller Center

A ridiculously long line combined with hundreds of on-lookers prompted me to have a go at ice-skating elsewhere - but you can't deny its popularity (or its price)!
Ice-Skating in Bryant ParkIce-Skating in Bryant Park
Ice-Skating in Bryant Park

Where I did end up skating! In midtown flanked by the NY Public Library and next to Grand Central.


4th January 2015
Central Park

NYC
I loved your list of ifs...indeed. Your blogs are always fantastic to read. Glad you found some time to go back in time and make an attempt to get caught up. We are hoping to do NYC at the holidays. It seems like a perfect setting. Sorry you lost some photos.
17th January 2015
Central Park

NYC
I feel like I'm always playing catch back up, but better than that not having done anything to write about :) We can't recommend NYC over the holidays enough! I often feel as though less-than-ideal weather makes the city feel even cozier. Quite a few good outdoor holiday markets too!

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 15; qc: 22; dbt: 0.02s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb