Central Park


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
December 11th 2009
Published: December 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was a lovely sunny morning, a really pleasant autumn day so I ended up spending most of it outside. I got off the subway at Lexington Avenue and walked up 5th Avenue towards Central Park. 5th Avenue was great fun, so many recognisable but hideously unaffordable shops. There was a really, really long queue to walk past the Saks Christmas window and outside Abercrombie & Fitch. I think A+F may have had a sale on because there was nothing in the window. The only thing that upset me inthe morning was some anti abortionists protesting in the street. They had a poster naming someone (presumably a practioner) and showing a picture of a foetus aborted at 3 months. It was really horrible and, in my opinion, unnecessary.

I was planning on joining a tour at Central Park but had a little time to kill so popped into Fao Schwarz a massive toy shop that I'd wanted to visit since I read about it in my Babysitter Club books about 20 years ago! It did not disappoint. The shop is immense and has every kind of toy imaginable - even a design your own Barbie station and the giant floor piano they play on in the movie Big. Needless to say, I totally lot track of time and missed the tour of Central Park, oops. Outside the toy shop is the Apple store, the entrance of which is a massive glass cube. I didn't go in but took some pics of the exterior.

I headed into Central Park anyway and wandered from North to South. I only stopped at Belvedere Castle but plan to go back to see the Zoo and hopefully do a tour! The weather was so nice that I stopped midway to read a while and enjoy the atmosphere.

I'd read that there are some good, inexpensive restaurants by Columbia University (beautiful buildings by the way!) and went into V&Ts and had a pizza. It was gorgeous and only cost 7 dollars which was very reasonable.

After lunch the wind had picked up and it was fairly nippy so I marched quickly down the outside of the park and got the subway home. Yet again I was in bed before 9pm, absolutely shattered.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1011.3kb