Noo Yoik


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Queens
December 12th 2009
Published: December 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I can't believe I forgot about it, but the day I went to Central Park and FAO Schwarz I also visited The Cathedral Church of St John the Divine . It was amazing. It's a massive building, apparently the size of two american football pitches and the statue of liberty could comfortably fit under the done (without her pedestal). It's unfinished and looks like it won't be finished until 2050 due to various funding crises and a big fire but it is remarkable, not only for it's vastness but for the beautiful stained glass windows and peaceful mini chapels (my terminology might not be quite correct) coming off the main room. They do a lot of work in the community and have the National Aids Memorial there too. I thought it was a fantastic place and spent a good hour wandering around absorbing the atmosphere.

Yesterday I walked a lot! I took the subway to Tribeca and wandered through there. I was really, really cold so stopped for a cup of green tea then carried on walking South towards Ground Zero. I got a little bit lost round there but, as you would expect, it is a massive construction site and lots of the roads are closed or diverted. I found a little gallery commemorating 9/11 and saw some pictures of what the plans are of the site, but didn't spend too long there. I walked through the World Financial Centre to Battery Park which is right on the southern tip of the peninsula where there is a police memorial. I had a great view of the buildings on the opposite bank and was very excited to see the Statue of Liberty becuase I'd lost my bearings so wasn't expecting it to be right there! The wind was really cold though so I didn't stop anywhere for long and headed along Wall Street - past Tiffany and Co then up to Chinatown. Chinatown was interesting but I think would be more useful for people wanting to shop. From there I headed to West Broadway to find the Billionaire Boys Club shop to try and find something for my brother. I got completely confused between Broadway ad West Broadway though so it took me ages, not too pleasant given the weather! Lunch was fun because I was sitting near to three policemen and they were talking with a proper Brooklyn drawl, an accent which I love!

In the evening some of my cousin's friends came over (they are all medical students) and we went to Bonfire's for dinner then just headed home to play some alcohol infused board games which was great fun.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0702s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb