New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
December 10th 2009
Published: December 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in New York completely exhausted but excited. After an earlyish night I woke up really early yesterday and was at the subway station for 9am. I'd thought it might be cold here, but I hadn't bargained for the torrential rain we had in the morning. It was like Scotland, only worse! It was difficult to admire the architecture (or even see the tops of the buildings!) given my umbrella and I didn't like to stop on the street as everybody else was rushing past with their umbrellas wo there wasn't much room.

Anyway, I headed down Lexington Avenue past the Waldorf Astoria to the Chrysler Building . I was bemused that I couldn't find it where it was supposed to be, before I looked up and realised that the clouds were obscuring the top half of the building so it just looked rather ordinary. I crossed to the Channin Building where a security guard shouted at me for taking a picture. It was worth it though as it's a beautiful art deco space, all gold and chandeliers.

New York Public Library had a free tour at 11am so I went along for that. The guide, Gorman, was dressed the part and even had a bow tie on! It was a fascinating tour and the building is just gorgeous. I plan to go back another day because we passed lots of interesting looking things we couldn't stop at as a group. The session overran so I missed the 12.30 tour of Grand Central Station and had a wander round Bryant Park instead. It's a square behind the library with an ice rink and lots of little booths selling jeweller, art, sweet treats etc - crafty things really. The weather had cleared by this time so I got some really good views of the Chrysler building this time, before heading to Grand Central.

I love Grand Central Station . It is beautiful and I was completely overawed. The ceiling is stunning (in fact, that's what struck me most about the library too, the time, money and effort that was spent on the ceilings!) and shows the constellations, though I think that are reversed. It is so big and airy and, probably because of the time of day when I went, struck me as being surprisingly peaceful.

I had lunch at a place called Channels off 5th Avenue - it looked really dark and bit ding y from outside but it was actually mobbed and very clean with proper tablecloths and napkins! I had a massive tuna melt (more melt than tuna really!) which was lovely, if a little pricey. Unfortunately I had a very loud woman sat beside me who seemed to have no ability, or interest in, keeping her voice to a suitable level so I heard all about the Christmas gifts she was going to buy and her plans for the festive season. Sadly, her quieter voiced companion couldn't get a word in edgeways so it was just a dull monologue to accompany my meal.

After lunch I wandered up to the Rockefeller Centre , watched the ice skaters and mooched around the mall. I contemplated doing the NBC Tour and using the observation deck but decided to wait until a clearer day. I did go into the NBC Shop and managed to resist the temptation to load up with Friends, 30 Rock and House goodies. I made my way to Times Square but didn't stay long. I popped into the massive Toys R Us but didn't stay too long.

By this time, my feet ached and I was just knackered so I stopped at a Metro cafe for a cup of green tea and a slice of carrot cake. The tea was fine but the carrot cake really disappointing, I actually left half of it which really isn't like me! Farouk made me dinner last night and I went to bed early. Today I was planningon going to Brooklyn but the weather is really nice so I think I might go to Central Park instead...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.31s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0908s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb