Expeditionary Studies...


Advertisement
Published: July 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, what have I done?

Since being home, I've been working at this house for Steve and Melissa from my mom's office (the expeditionary studies department of SUNY Plattsburgh). One of the students from the department has been working with them and helped me get this work so I wouldn't be stuffed in the back office of some company doing the most senseless work possible. I've learned how to run electrical outlets and installed lights and switches. I've done work all over the house from sanding and cleaning, to learning how to drive a tractor. I enjoy my job, and even more than that, the people I work with.

In addition to that, I've met a lot of kids from the department. I went out with them one night to Peabody's which was not something I would typically have done. I've been taking risks. Lindsey and I have been back in touch and been kayaking a few times, which is glorious. Yesterday, between work and kayaking, Anthony (the student who put me in touch with this job) took me rock climbing. We ended up getting rained out of the place he was really looking forward to going to, but we went to a practice place instead and he gave me a lesson. Apparently he was impressed and I did really well. It was such a good feeling to be good at something.

This weekend I'm working at the Kayak demo day which should be pretty fun. I'm planning to keep doing this activities and spending time with people. It's been hard for me to reach out and trust people, even enough to just spend time and meet new people so this summer has been full of pretty big steps for me.

Still heading off to NC in a few weeks but I think I might push it back since Nate will be going home to CO till almost the end of the summer. I don't want to leave fun just to sit in an apartment by myself. Only time will tell. So much can change in the next few weeks.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0778s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb