Railroad Canyon campground to Silver City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Silver City
August 15th 2011
Published: August 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

August 15 - Today drove into Silver City and after stopping at the MacDonalds there to send out emails and do a little homework I went up Hwy 15 towards the Gila Cliff dwellings but after fighting that rough and winding road and seeing a sign that said another 7 miles of steep incline, decided it just wasn’t worth tearing my truck up over. Another 7 miles down meant another 7 miles up coming back.
So I let it go and went back on the much easier Hwy 34. The info I had looked up on it had told me it was better to go up 34 because it was so much a better route but I had opted on going up 15 for a more scenic route figuring on coming back on 34. A big mistake. When I got back to Silver City I rented a room at the Motel 6 for $50.56. After camping out for a week being able to take a long hot shower was nice. But the view wasn’t as good. I chose the motel 6 because it had a good rate but also because the Macdonalds was just across the street as well as a
convience store. Also the Super Walmart was just a mile or so East. Worth noting is that there is an auto repair shop a couple of blocks over called R&L Service Center where I had my water pump replaced that just went out coming into town. Very good luck after all the desert and mountains I had just crossed. I bought a new one at the local parts house and figured on taking my truck by there the next morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Copper mineCopper mine
Copper mine

Passed this open pit copper mine on the way to Silver City


Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb