Albuquerque balloon Fest- Bryan to Ft Stockton, Texas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Albuquerque
October 3rd 2011
Published: October 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Oct 03 Monday
I guess the cooler weather in Texas was waiting for me to leave. I put in a long day. I drove to San Antonio and visited my sister Laura, and we ate at the Alamo Cafe on the West side of I-10 south of the Huebner exit. They give free flour tortillas with butter which is nice as their chips with salsa were stale and when I requested a different one it was stale as well. I got a beef burrito with seasoned Hamburger meat and it was OK. After eating, I took my sister to Wal Mart and then home because she had to be back to get her kid off the bus. Then I drove on to Junction and took a nap in the city park there beside the lake. It is just about the only place that I have seen this year which is at its pre drought levels. I guess it must have some good springs feeding into that portion of the Llano River. I parked lengthwise right on the bank and opened my doors to allow the cool breeze coming off the lake to come in the truck. It was very pleasant and
comfortable. Junction allows free overnight parking in the park and in the past I have even seen people stay overnight in tents they set up. I got a good two hour nap and then drove west on I-10 again. I stopped in Ft Stockton at the Stripes Truck stop at 11PM for the night. I chose a spot on the South end of the parking lot which was away from the trucks. It was next to the freeway but still fairly quiet. I let back the driver's seat and went to sleep. I sleep in the drivers seat with the key in the ignition just in case but so far have not had any problems in all my travels as far as needing to make a fast escape......except for the time the bear tried to get in the back of my truck at Ft Davis state park.
I've had people tell me that there are no bears in the Davis Mountains but maybe someone needs to point that out to the bear.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



6th October 2011

balloon trip
looks like you will have a good time!!

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb