USA Experience


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey » Deptford
November 22nd 2008
Published: September 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I’M GOING HOME

Flight Itinerary: NEWARK - DETROIT - NAGOYA - MANILA

November 14, 2008 - Woke up around 3am, time to go back home… I’ve been in the country for almost a month but it’s not enough… there’s so much things to see and to do. America is a very nice place to live in especially if you are looking for comfort of living though not as happy compared to manila where you could go outside anytime and you would definitely find your neighbor on the streets and start chatting any topic under the sun, but I still need to go back to work, back to the reality. Bid farewell to my parents and my sister. It’s very dark and chilly outside the house, i wish snow would fall before I leave though winter will be next month. My brother in-law and my cousin drove me to Newark Liberty international Airport. We reached the terminal past 6am, after they drop me off, we said our good-byes and they headed back home and I was alone again in a foreign land.. Went to check-in counter of Northwest and good enough my baggage is still within the allowable weight considering I have 2 balikbayan boxes but I had to hand carried my luggage =). i waited for about 3 hours then I heard in the public address system that my flight to Detroit is now ready for boarding. As we are about to leave the tarmac, the pilot informed us that our flight will be delayed for about an hour because of some traffic problem in Detroit, I think it was congested… good that my next flight to Nagoya is in the afternoon… I still have enough time. As the plane gained altitude, I could see the New York skyline again for the last time. The airline crew offered drinks and now I asked for a pepsi. I just stared at the window looking at the mountains below and soon, we landed at the Detroit Metropolitan Airport. Since I got time to spare, I decided to roam around in the airport and it is very huge maybe because it is one of Northwest’s Hub. The monorail are inside the terminal, my next boarding gate is located at the opposite direction from where I disembark. I felt hungry so I decided to grab a bite in one of the restaurant inside the terminal. After that, I went to the boarding gate to wait for my next flight. 3:00 pm and i heard form the attendant that the gate is now ready to accept passengers for boarding. I think I was one of the last passengers to board the aircraft. And soon enough, the plane is now ready to depart for Nagoya, Japan with service flight to the Philippines… As we gained momentum and start to ascend, I recall all the memories and experience I had and said Good-bye America! in my mind. Again without anything to do during the flight aside from eating, sleeping, watching movies, eating, sleeping, and watching movies, I turned on my very reliable mp3 player and played my favorite movie and songs again and again. After more than 13 hours of flying and crossing the pacific, we landed at Centrair Airport in Nagoya, Japan. We disembark and went to the boarding gate again and waited for more than an hour to board the same aircraft. Good that the seat next to mine is now vacant. I have enough room to seat comfortably. Soon later, They already serving hot meal the same meal that was being offered from my manila to Nagoya flight. Then I dozed off. After 4 hours of flying, we landed safely at the Ninoy Aquino International Airport in Philippines, November 16, 2008. This is the end of my vacation and glad i’m home again.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 37; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb