Day 52


Advertisement
Published: August 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

OLYMPICS!!!!! This morning I woke up and found Munchkins by our door (donut holes) and the girls were up at 6:45, so we decided to let them get up early because of their excitement and because it is Mikaylas birthday!! She turns 9 today! Opening Ceremonies was crazy! Each side had cheers and we were going back and forth, then we lit the Olympic torch. Let the games begin! For junior camp we first had Boating, then Team Sport, Individual Sport, Tug of War, and Swimming. So the girls were in sports such as Canoeing, Kayaking, Soccer, Kickball, Tennis, Archery, 50 yard dash, and Relays. At the sports that I went too DC was dominating!!! We were ahead by 200 points for the whole day until the Apache Relay, this relay included the whole camp, all 435 kids and it was a baton relay all across camp and I was stationed on the Upper Sports Complex Soccer, Station #32, field with 4 DC players and 4 Marvel players waiting for the baton. DC ended up getting behind in points and Marvel was ahead by the end of the day. We then had dinner and candy night and had to prepare for the rope burn. The senior campers had been collecting wood all day from all around camp since 5am in the morning….they take this so seriously!!! Then what they do in the evening is set up 2 ropes horizontally and the senior campers try to make a fire to burn the rope in half and first rope to burn is the winner of the Olympics because it is worth 500 points. In previous years when one rope burns it traditionally takes the opposites rope 20 more minutes to burn in half. Tonight, the DC’s fire started first and was burning for a good10 minutes but in the end Marvel won and our rope then burned in half 1 minute later, which is a record! It was a late evening for the girls, they did not get into bed until 10pm but they were out! Amberlynn was tired also and she was out, for me it felt good to lay in bed but I was not tired, around 11pm I heard noises coming from my cubbie, I had a Reeses stored in there because I did not eat it at dinner time, I was intending to save it for tomorrow to eat but nooooooo the mice decided to get to it. All I could hear was them trying to get the package open and eating my Reeses….I was hyperventilating and could NOT sleep now…it was going on for a half hour and I could not take it anymore so I threw on a sweatshirt and went to the CK to see if anyone was there and to get out of my cabin!!!! Luckilly there were people there to play Ping Pong with!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb