Day 9


Advertisement
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

At the meeting yesterday we made sure to mention that they were not to get out of bed until the Revielle at 7:15 or if they have to go to the bathroom or are sick. When I got up for my run this morning at 6:20 I had about 4 pairs of eyes watch me leave and ask me where I was going! Then when I got back at 7:10 every girl had their flashlight on and were reading or writing letters home, but they all knew that they had to stay in their bed!
Polar Bear Plunge- waking up the in morning, changing in your swimsuits as soon and as fast as possible, and jumping in the lake…..All my girls except Lauren wanted to do this but I jumped along with them because I was hot after my run and it felt amazing!!!!! We then rushed back to the cabin to get dressed for breakfast and then off to breakfast we went! Talk about crazy! All the counselors are assigned to a table so I had 2 of my girls at my table with a couple of boys. It was fun to hear them converse, kids at this age are so smart and intuitive! Swimming was next and they all had swim checks which took forever. There are also little newts in the lake and all the kids were infatuated with it. We had one kid say “They are amphibians.” And another say “Newts are the cousins of salamanders” and the funniest question…
Jake “where did newts come from?”
Josh “Well Jake, where did you come from?”
Jake “Land”
Everyone laughs……
Josh “well where on land?”
Jake “New Jersey”
Mike “Wait did they evolve from apes?”
Oh how creative they can be, I would love to spend a day in a kids mind and imagination.
We then rushed to soccer and then we had free time which all of my girls wanted to shower. After that we played games and then it was time for lunch! BLT’s yummy! I had a PB&J instead which is an option at every meal. They also announced that cabin 12A (us) got Kudos for being on time for soccer…WOOT WOOT!! After lunch we have quiet time or LOT time (Ladies on throne) and no one can talk for 20 min. There was lots of giggling though!! We then had a meeting for SIGS, Special Interest Groups where the girls are able to pick out an activity that they want to learn more like boating, sailing, waterskiing, tennis, golf, horseback riding, ceramics, sewing…… etc. Then it was break time for me while Amberlynn took them to gymnastics so I jumped on that and got ready for a long hot shower, that got interrupted by 8 11 year olds running in and screaming!!! So hurried and came back to an empty cabin where I took my time getting ready and cleaning up while jamming to music! It was then elective time where the girls were able to pick an activity that they wanted to do for one hour that day….choices were art, wood, dance, boating, swimming etc…I was the counselor in charge of the wood so I took 5 girls there and had a blast…the girls had free reign of ALL the machines!!!!! And they were able to handle them!!! We came out with 50 fingers and 50 toes!!! We then had free time where we started to read a book and the girls made bracelets and then off to dinner….Chicken Nuggets and fries! Tonight we had a sister event where someone from upper camp “adopts” a first time camper so we had activities with them. The walk back was funny because this was the first interaction that we had with boys and they were all talking about the boys asking the other girls if they thought the boys were cute….their reaction? “We are to young” “I do not even like boys” “He wasn’t even that cute” Way to go girls!!! Snack was Goldfish and playtime. Now it is bedtime and we have 2 homesick girls…Boo (Elizabeth) and Kayla and the others are hyper….so we will see how this goes!

I feel so out of the loop…I have not been online since Friday, and I just heard that Micheal Jackson died…we are so secluded out here and I feel so out of touch with people…..maybe tomorrow I will be able to get on line because I have the night off. I was on duty tonight which meant that the other 3 counselors in here could leave and I had to stay.

Privacy: What does that mean? I have learned that being at camp you are always surrounded by someone, even if I go over to the shower house I will see people along the way and usually there are people showering! Or the girls are running and screaming! I am with my girls all day and what I have noticed is that when I am not with the girls I have only 3 choices to choose from, Shower, sleep, or check e-mail; so I have to make sure I choose wisely because I can only choose one and they all sound wonderful!!!

I am also craving Chocolate chip banana bread and rice crispie treats....hummmmmmm :o)


Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb