Helena/Bozeman


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana
May 26th 2006
Published: May 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi
Today I said goodbye to the border towns of Montana and Canada, as myself and Marcus drove down to Helena before HE could endure the next day and a half of driving/bus/flight to Washington DC. Charles lent me the keys to his apartment whilst he was away at a wedding; originally we had planned for me to spend time with him this weekend!!
After spending so much time on the road and with other people, the prospect of 2 days in Helena (30,000 people) on my own was not very inviting especially as it was memorial weekend and most of the downtown area was closed. Charles apartment was nice enough in downtown, and right next to one of 3 movie theatres which was convenient for me to see lots of films before they are released in the UK. There is a beutiful cathedral in Helena too. I did get a chance to do some hiking - I walked up Mount Helena around 5600ft and the heighest point on a mountain I have been so far. It was great view of Helena and the surrounding landscape.
I did get taken out for a night on the town by a friend of Charles and she took me to some saloons and we went for a drive to a lake nearby, which was fun.
I was contemplating taking the train from north Montana to Boston via Chicago at a substantial expense; in order to avoid hanging out in Helena. But I decided to save my cash and Charles arranged me a lift to Bozeman airport on Monday morning.


Advertisement



30th May 2006

Hello!
Hi James, it all looks fascinating and you seem to have packed a lot in - you will need a rest when you get home! Have printed off some photos, look forward to seeing more. Oh well, back to the grindstone after the bank holiday, and yes the sun is shining today after a rainy weekend. Cheers, A. Sharon

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb