Helena/Chouteu


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana
May 24th 2006
Published: May 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

On wednesday (24th) after a short tour of Helena, myself and Marcus drove across some amazing countryside to Chouteu, 100 miles north of there; where his aunt and uncle live. Charles joined us later on that evening. It is a very small town of 1800 people, but has all the basic ammenities and for our purposes serves as a gateway to the Glacier National Park.
Today (25th) we were within 10 miles of the Canadian border and the main railway line that runs from Oregon to Chicago and the east coast. I would have liked to have spent some time in Calgary, if I could change my overall route back to UK I would, but I have a feeling I would have complications returning to USA from there. However, we thoroughly enjoyed a visit to the native indian reservation (and museam) which is east of the Glacier National Park; essentially the reservation looks the same as any other part of the State of Montana, as the native indians live in buildings the same as other americans do and they have the same technology!!
Unfortunately we were unable to find anything open with regard to food anywhere near the National Park; we had planned on eating at this massive lodge restaurant situated on the banks of a lake with amazing snow capped mountains surrounding it; but it was not to be; even in late May it was not open for business! I did at least get some captivating photographs.

Well tommorow I wave goodbye to Marcus as he journeys back to Casper, and then back to Washington DC. Its been good spending time with him again and it will be around a year before I will probably go to Washington to see him again.
I will go to Helena and stay at Charles apartment until I fly to Denver on Monday and I start my return lag of the journey.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



26th May 2006

hi james
hi james, It's great to be hear from your trip state-side! I'm glad you're enjoying the local beers and museums See you at art in the park when you get back... danH

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb