Jeremy's first trip to Montana


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana
August 8th 2003
Published: March 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Georgetown LakeGeorgetown LakeGeorgetown Lake

From St. Timothy's Cathedral
Our first trip together ended up being Jeremy's first trip to Montana. We both had 2 weeks of leave planned to go to our respective hometowns. Jeremy decided to cut his visit home by a week and fly to Montana to spend a week with me. I took him to see everything that trip....and I mean EVERYTHING! We started off in Butte so he could meet my mom and sisters. Then we took the scenic route up to Kalispell to meet my dad. We drove up to Georgetown Lake, then took the Skalkaho Pass road to come out around Hamilton, then backtracked to Hwy 93 to up through Polson and Flathead Lake to Kalispell. We spent a few days with my dad at which time we ventured into Glacier National Park and to the top of Going to the Sun Road. Even thought it was August, it was SO cold...and rainy! Plus, the forest fires were so bad that year, the smoke itself obstructed the view. There was a fire wreaking havoc in Glacier when we went and half of the park was closed. I caught a nasty cold and ear infection....and my poor car looked like it had never been cleaned. My dad took us to see the Elk farms, and we drove through the bear experience. Heading back to Butte, we took the back way down through the Swan....beautiful drive with lakes galore! Jeremy had never seen a real Ghost Town before so I had to take him up to Garnet. My step-dad and uncle have a cabin up there that was passed down from their parents. They actually grew up in this town and remember it full of people. After writing the obligatory entry in the Garnet family Journal (every time someone is up there, we write about our trip in a notebook for all to see and add too) we headed back to Butte. A trip to Montana is never complete without taking in the sights of Melrose, so that was our next stop. My aunt and uncle, Doug & Jacque, were still living there at the time, and we always stopped to visit them. I showed Jeremy around my old stomping ground. Took him up to the Charcoal Kilns and Vipond Park. We ended the night parked around a bonfire in Doug's front yard, drinking and telling lies (stories lol). It was a fabulous week! Jeremy made quite the impression on my family, as they did with him also.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Mission MountainsMission Mountains
Mission Mountains

you can really see how bad the smoke is in this picture. You can barely make out the mountains in the distance
Flathead LakeFlathead Lake
Flathead Lake

This is one of the biggest lakes in Montana.
Lake McDonald in GlacierLake McDonald in Glacier
Lake McDonald in Glacier

The forest fire was raging just on the other side of the lake.
Where Salamander Glacier would beWhere Salamander Glacier would be
Where Salamander Glacier would be

It was very foggy and smokey going up through Glacier. You couldn't see hardly anything!
Elk in one of the farmsElk in one of the farms
Elk in one of the farms

They look like statues, but they weren't! The bull has twine in his antlers. This was there rut time, so they get pretty stupid!
Grizzly bear at the Bear ExperienceGrizzly bear at the Bear Experience
Grizzly bear at the Bear Experience

This was a drive through park. You had to stay in the car the whole time and keep your windows rolled up.


17th March 2009

yay! i'm so happy to finally see all your pics and hear the stories. i look forward to more:) Montana looks so beautiful, i HAVE to go someday!
17th March 2009

Montana
It sounds like Jeremy had a fun-filled tour of MT. He got to see so many areas that some people that have lived in MT their whole lives haven't even seen. That would be...I still haven't been up to Glacier. I love your pics. Riding thru the bear experience looks a little scary but I'm sure it was fun. I also like the pics of the elk. It's crazy to me that some people have never seen bear or elk in person, but I guess to each their own. Well, I'm glad you posted the blog and added the pics. Keep 'em coming!
18th March 2009

Thank you Launie for sharing. Have you ever thought about writing a book like your Dad did? Take care, Love, Sherry
20th March 2009

Pics
The pictures are amazing, as usual! I have yet to visit Montana, but maybe someday! Miss you Launie! Darlene

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb