Wise beyond your pages


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Columbia Falls
September 29th 2015
Published: September 29th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Unexpected (Morell Falls)Unexpected (Morell Falls)Unexpected (Morell Falls)

Biking on dirt roads with a road bike. Not having a clue how far you are on the trail. Keeping on going because every turn makes you wonder where it's going to take you... Seeley lake is a beautiful, quiet and magical place. I saw a cougar. It saw me too. The campground on the east side of the lake is free past September 7th. I had a good time there.
Le scotch goûte le vent – Bernard Adamus

I am proud of myself, especially in the last few days. I have found a rhythm that makes travelling like I do an almost sane thing to do. 50 to 60 miles on the first day, next day of hiking, visiting and meditation. And then we do it again. It gives me the time to both recuperate and enjoy the scenery, while covering the ground I want to cover. I also found out that the earlier I start my day, the less important hurrying becomes. I can stop in that cute town or take a nap or whatever; I know I will make it before the sun sets. Of course it depends on the type of road I have to face and the weather, but I like to plan with the best case scenario in head and then fix things regarding the conditions given.
I also am better at making the difference between need and want. Carrying less stuff and spending less money makes the way seem easier.
Not that the way has been hard, not at all. Off course, my first three days were of wind and rain and slowed me
Seeley Lake, my Viggo is a romantic dateSeeley Lake, my Viggo is a romantic dateSeeley Lake, my Viggo is a romantic date

Soaking your legs after a long hiking or biking day in freezing water will change your life. It's comparable to Yoga, but you get to stare at the sunset wothout breaking your neck. It's good for your soul.
down to a scary point, but since I have left Helena, everything has been way better. Bike touring in Fall is the best; super sunny days, wonderful colours, most tourists are back at work and the nights are not too hot to sleep. The wind is one point and the cold mornings another that makes it less interesting, but I have learned to appreciate my morning tea while stretching and that the sun is up and warm at 10.
Food wise, I now have a stove to cook on, life is good. I am learning to plan my grocery stops and lessen my restaurant spendings.
Anything is prettier during this time of the year, especially lakes and mountains, and I am in the perfect place to enjoy the sight every day.
I am truly proud because I was thinking back at my first long distance bike ride, which was last May, from Zigzag, Or to Prineville, Or. It seems like it was so long ago. Little girl on a kid bike, carrying too much stuff in a big bag pack, suffering through the 120miles, without proper food and never enough water. I did not even have a map, just following
Swan lakeSwan lakeSwan lake

Oh the so sweet little town of Swan Lake. There is nothing there, except a bar and a campground. But the time I spent there was of meditation and contemplation. It is worth the stop, but there is no grocery store of any kind in a 15miles radius, so be prepared. But it is its own little bubble of serenity.
the highway with no clue of where I was.
I have a map now. And a bike the right size. And so much more understanding of the road ahead.
Knowing what you have to expect makes everything easier, less impressive. Had I the chance I would not change anything I have done, because stupid as those beliefs were, challenging them and putting them to the test made me realize on my own what my mistakes were and what impact they had on the results I expected.
I always try to gather information from people with more experience, always try to put forward the fact that others have been where I am heading and can draw some lines on the image I made in my brain. But I also highly respect the fact that we each have a different approach to everything; values, experiences, strengths and skills make the adventure unique to the main character.
This is also why I do not think growing older necessarily means growing wiser. As much as I can learn from a nine years old saying that ‘you just have to fall once to realize it’s not as bad as you fear it is’, as much
Highway 200 and 83Highway 200 and 83Highway 200 and 83

I biked them from Lincoln to Bigfork and the colors of Fall has never seemed prettier to me. You get to see them a lot on that specific road. You are right between two moutain ranges, it is quite impressive. The towns of Lincoln and Ovando are really pretty; Ovando as a Gilmore Girls feeling to it and I dearly wish to go back eventually. I bypassed the Clearwater turn by a little gravel called Woodworth which led me at Salmon Lake, 10miles from Seeley Lake. Yes it takes you of of the highway, but it is gravel and you go through bear territory, be careful. The highway shoulder is not impressive. It is a popular biking road and a really enjoyable ride, the cars know you are around, but still, there are a few scary miles right after Lincoln and passed Seeley Lake and again after Swan Lake. It is not a hard ride, though.
I can teach a 60years old woman to respect that I might know a thing or two about bikes that she doesn’t. Even if her grandson likes bikes too. Wisdom comes from reflexions and experiences. That you admit that you messed up or that you believed something for a long time that was just proved wrong to you makes you way more reliable and smart in my eyes than any diploma pinned on your wall. Being down to earth and logical in your sayings and having the ability to have a conversation about anything makes you more respectable than screaming your beliefs and clinging to your old ways ‘because it’s always been that way’. Grow up, dear.
In the same line, I just started using the Warmshower organization to plan my stays where possible, and I just realized all that I have missed. Staying for a few day with others bike packers, in their hometown and just chat a little, shines a whole new light on my map. They know more than me about bikes. They often are hikers too, so they know the sweetest trails around and might want to go with me on said trail. They have stories
Columbia MountainColumbia MountainColumbia Mountain

7miles up, 7miles down. A beautiful hike that will show you just enough of the Glacier National Park to inspire you to head there on the next day. It did for me anyway. Challenging and not too crowded, especially past the fourth mile, I truly enjoyed it.
to tell. They offer a safe environment to sleep at; highway sides in bear country just don’t sound right to me.
I mean, I am starting to see that I seek loneliness because I like it. It feels right to go at my own rhythm wherever I want, but meeting people from this small and active community that is bike touring is way too much fun. Enlightening. I thought I was too shy and not knowledgeable enough, but I now see how wrong I have been. It is such a sweet feeling to meet people that have similar interests and understand that will to hike and bike everywhere.
Also, just like blogging about insignificant things like I thought no one would ever care about my stories, but people get dulled by their day to day life. They stop seeing the wonders of the place they live in, they don’t stop and ask themselves ‘why am I doing what I am doing?’.
Just for the hell of it, ask yourself why you stay in that city, where would you take a tourist in your area, what makes you proud about your surroundings? What makes you describe yourself as a Québecois, and not a Canadien? Why is that forest named after Lewis and Clark? Who were those guys? Little stuff. History and geography are becoming lost sciences in our immediate-googling-everything world, and I think it is a shame.
As ashamed as I am not to have biked Québec, yet. Eventually. I’ll read about it for now, and try to define why do I like the french language so much?

War of man – Neil Young
Overjoyed - Bastilles

Advertisement



1st October 2015

Just discovered your blogs. Very philosophical writing instead of the usual list of experiences. I like it. Great adventures in the Rocky Mountains too. PS. You've been nominated for Blogger of the Week
2nd October 2015

Hey thanks!
Hey, thank you for your nice comment :) I am very happy you find my little adventures interesting, but oh so suprised for the nomination? Where did you see that?!
3rd October 2015

Nomination
I saw it because I submitted it : ) Nominations are done through the Blog Forum: [forum_topic=30922]
3rd October 2015

Sweet
Hahaha, well thank you again :)

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0733s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb