2011 Mid Life Crisis Tour


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » Springfield
September 7th 2011
Published: September 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Red sky at morning, Sailor - take warningRed sky at morning, Sailor - take warningRed sky at morning, Sailor - take warning

Sunrise in Garden City, Kans.
I was up and in the shower by 5:15 a.m., packed and availed myself of the free breakfast buffet.
I hit the road at 7:20 a.m., gassing at a Conoco convenience store on the way out of town.
Although the weather radar showed rain from Garden City to Dodge City and there was a red sky at dawn, I encountered only a few drops of rain and was glad to have the cloud deck to keep the rising sun out of my eyes.
I was in road zombie mode all day, stopping only to gas and use a restroom. I gassed at Kingman, Kans., Neodesho, Kans. and finally in Springfield, Mo. before I checked into the nearby HomeStay Inn. It was called the Eagles Lodge when I stayed here two years ago on the Wednesday after Labor Day.
I had the country fried steak at the nearby Shoney's.
Garmin said I could have made it home by 8 p.m., but I decided at Joplin that I didn't have another five hours in me.
I rode a somewhat more respectable 487 miles today.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb