2011 Mid Life Crisis Tour


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Garden City
September 6th 2011
Published: September 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Boy, do I feel stupid.
Disregard my rant about the right combination switch. At least until it's warranted.
Tiim and I went out to see if the bike would start this morning. I turned the key and hit the starter button and, of course, nothing happened.
I turned the key off and on and pushed the button and nothing happened.
"Where's your neutral light?" Tim inquired.
Doh!
It was parked on a slight incline and I'd left it in gear. It won't start with the clutch engaged and the transmission in gear.
I put it into neutral, pushed the button and it started.
Beware of feebs on bikes.
Oddly enough, the expression "FINE-C" popped into my head while I was in the shower about an hour ago. That's the Motorcycle Safety Foundation key to starting a bike - Fuel, Ignition, Neutral light, Engine kill switch and Choke.
I was packed, loaded and on my way by 10 a.m., comfortable despite the morning chill and threat of drizzle in my Kilimanjaro jacket with liner and light weight fleece pullover and Kathmandu pants.
I rode down to Canon City where I picked up U.S. 50, gassed at a Shell station and took off the liner and fleece.
I had hoped to make the Clarion motel at Dodge City, but when I stopped at a McDonald's on the west side of Garden City for a double cheeseburger and Wifi, I discovered it was full for the night. Instead, I settled on the Garden City Clarion.
The amenities - 2 free beers and salad bar in the evening and free breakfast buffet in the morning - more than justified the $118.46 charge.
I covered a pathetic 346 miles today.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb