Hello from Michigan


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Ypsilanti
July 21st 2007
Published: July 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone,

I just now realized this had not been published last night. Guess I need to pay closer attention. Anyway... here it is.

We had two uneventful days of travel and are settled in our campground for our time in the Detroit area.

Friday was an overcast day with some drizzle. But the drive was still pretty - especially the portion from just north of Knoxville, TN to Berea, KY. It is an absolutely beautiful drive through the mountains!

Katie, a friend and business partner of Toni's niece Valerie, rode with us to Lexington, KY. We enjoyed having her with us!

Friday covered 346 miles and the overnight stop was in Crittenden, KY. There I learned about a French game some British folks (who currently live in Detroit) were playing - Boule.

Saturday started off brisk with low humidity. It was pleasant all day. The sky was a deep blue and part of the day was filled with popcorn or cotton ball like clouds. That really set off the blue green lakes and ponds we saw in Ohio.

We travled 294 miles today. Tonight I learned another game - ladder ball. The folks parked next to me were playing it. He gave me a handout he made detailing the game and how to make the equipment. I wonder what I'll learn tomorrow!!!

Tomorrow is a laid back day. We don't get our rental vehicle until Monday morning (Ike didn't tag along with us on this trip), so I'm going to unhook Trina and we will drive into downtown Ypsilanti for a few hours. We will visit Ypsilanti's Automotive Heritage Museum, have lunch in the Depot area, and stop by the old GM Willow Run plant site (where Corvair's were produced in the 1960s) for a photo op.

I haven't had time to upload photos, but so far snapshots of the campgrounds is all I have recorded. Perhaps I'll have some to share Sunday evening.

Thanks for checking in.

Bruce, Jeff, Toni, Chessy, and Brice

Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb