Almost home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Berea
June 30th 2007
Published: June 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I’m ending the trip on a very nice relaxing note. Saturday was a very calm and easy day of driving. I drove through downtown Indianapolis on I-65 and it was a breeze. Such a pleasant and enjoyable change from the hassles and frustrations of Friday in Chicago!

I arrived in Berea, KY (about 30 miles south of Lexington, KY) just after 3 pm as I had planned. I set up the RV, fired up the AC for Chessy, unhooked Ike and went exploring.

Berea is a wonderful area and a place you should put on your list to visit when you are in this part of the country. It is the Folk Arts & Crafts Capital of Kentucky. Many artisans have studios here and you can watch them work. The campus of Berea College is beautiful. They are also working on a barn quilt trail in the county. I saw a couple of the quilts from I-75. Here’s a link to Berea. http://www.berea.com

After I visited a few studios, I headed north a few miles to Richmond and a winery - Acres of Land. They have a nice restaurant and you can sit on the patio overlooking the vineyards. I had a marvelous meal and had a tasting of several of their wines. http://www.acresoflandwinery.com

It was a perfect way to wind up the last evening of this trip.

The Jeep has been reconnected so it should be a breeze to “break camp” in the morning and head for the mountains of NC.

Thanks for checking in and following along with me on this journey.

Stay tuned for Detroit, Michigan beginning July 20th. I’m heading up there with my cousin and his wife for the annual Corvair Convention. We have and exciting and fun filled week lined up.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.278s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 78; dbt: 0.2156s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb