Ohio to Michigan-- Happy Birthday Mom


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » West Branch
July 10th 2015
Published: July 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Ohio to Michigan - Happy Birthday Mom



It was a rough start but we did manage to survive the night. We were sandwiched between two huge tractor trailers, one that ran his generator all night. It bothered me at first then just became that constant drone that puts you to sleep. I had just fallen asleep when I heard several loud booms. Fireworks? Gunfire? By the time I got my senses together I got up and looked out the window to witness a beautiful fireworks display. It lasted about 20 min and was quite good. Have no idea the reason for the celebration.

Ok, got settled again and had a fairly decent sleep, even with the noise.

We got underway about 9:30 and the drive was very pleasant, nice roads, light traffic and sunny weather. Got off the Ohio Turnpike near Toledo and headed north on highway 23 that became Interstate 75. The land was flat and in some cases flooded because of all the rain. There were beautiful farms with red barns and green fields, but not many livestock. Guess it's mostly farming country.

We arrived at our campground near West Branch, MI about 4pm and found it very small and pleasant and QUIET. I parked and set up easily, took Oscar for a walk and settled in the shade to enjoy the peace.

I was going to take a trip to the Lake but after reading a newspaper about Mackinaw Island found a light house cruise that I booked for tomorrow so I must leave early to make it. So I opted to just settle in here, have a quiet night and get an early start in the morning. The campground is Loranger Pines RV Park. Hope to have some pictures tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb