Adios, Akumal!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Jackson
December 22nd 2008
Published: December 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Home sweet home!

Our alarm was set for 8:30, but I was up at 6:58 and ready to get a move on. I lied about being done jewelry shopping....I got another necklace and a bracelet. Did I mention everything is SO FREAKIN' CHEAP compared to the states? I'm very excited about my collection!

We packed, ate, shopped, and hit the road. There were two traffic jams where people were being pulled over for random military checks. Dudes with huge guns guiding you either to pull over or keep going. We were in the clear for both. We got to the airport way to early and had to waist quite a bit of time. The plane was 20 minutes late.

All that wasn't to bad, but to make up for our more then perfect flight in, we weren't seated together and then due to the amazing weather in Michigan we had to sit on the plane for, no joke, forty minutes while we waited to be pulled up to the gate. Then there was the long lines at customs, but fortunately, again, we didn't have checked luggage. Something was frozen and a bunch of disgruntled passengers were waiting a long time to get their bags.

I went to the second check point with my back pack and the lady looked at me like I was stupid.

"uh...do you have all of your bags?"

"yes 😊"

"are you sure? what flight were you on?"

"northwest something....I didn't check any luggage, this is all I have"

"oh! okay!"


Alex and I were the only two exiting the airport. We found his car snowed in at Park N' Go and thanks to his all wheel drive, we got out and on our way.

We celebrated being home the American way, by grabbing a bite to eat at the fast food joint that started all fast food joints.....White Castle. Did you know that? White Castle started it all? I saw that on TV the other day. It's only the third time in my life I've had it and all three times were brought on by my health nut boyfriend.

We're home. Safe. Sound. ......and cold.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

my view pointmy view point
my view point

reading my Intro to business text book....did I mention I got a 4.0 in that class?? :)


22nd December 2008

WELCOME HOME!!! and back to reality. Glad you were able to get away long enough to tease the rest of us ;-)
24th December 2008

YAY!
Welcome home!! I will sit here remaining so jealous of you two! :)

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb