Going west...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Jackson
April 29th 2009
Published: April 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Browns Lake for your viewing pleasureBrowns Lake for your viewing pleasureBrowns Lake for your viewing pleasure

First time I picked up my camera in a long, long time. Wish I could find the piece of my tripod that screws onto my camera.
I am having a hard time concentrating on much other than our trip out west. The trip was canceled last year and is finally coming together for September. I have been researching a proper tent to get, looking up scenic routes, historic sites, national parks, and even booked a concert.

Someone suggested we visit Red Rocks. When I Googled it, the first thing to come up was the Red Rocks Amphitheater. It looks amazing. As it turns out, there are three concerts in the beginning of September so I snagged seats for The Killers on 09/09/09 (AWESOME!). Does it get much better than live music and nature?

The venue is a half hour from my good, good, good friend, Kat Wrozek, who I am hoping to be able to stop and see in Colorado if her schedule meshes with ours. Had to reroute the trip so that we're going to Colorado on the way out instead of on the way in, but I think it should work out a-okay.

The current plan is to:

Camp the whole trip
Pack a cooler to avoid eating out regularly and unhealthy (Of course we do have to go to some hole-in-the-wall restaurants for the experience)
Take the scenic routes
Aside from the concert, play the trip by ear, no set itinerary


I've been getting a lot of great advice from forums and random websites. It is all coming together quite nicely. I just got a bike rack for my car so hopefully I can start biking the Falling Water Trail when the weather clears up. I'd like to get in a bit better shape for hiking and whatever adventures come up (Running from tarantulas in the Grand Canyon? I don't know. We'll find out.).


Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0833s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb