A White Easter Sunday


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Dexter
April 8th 2007
Published: April 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Below freezing on EasterBelow freezing on EasterBelow freezing on Easter

They say this has never happened before.
I just had a superb Easter Sunday! Luisa and Larry took us to Dexter, which is an hour's drive west of Detroit. Maret and I feel so glad they invited us over.

I have never seen Easter celebrated this way before. Let me give you 4 reasons.

First, it was snowing.

I woke up as early as 6am and prepared myself for Easter mass. At around 730am we got ourselves seated inside St. Joseph Catholic Church which quickly got filled up with people in winter jackets. The snow wasn't that bad but it was freezing cold! They say Easter hasn't been this cold before; Either it would be sunny or just rainy... but not snowing! I heard from the news that this year's Easter is colder than last Christmas which was on the 40s.

Church goers march into the doors of the church donned in their best dress. I somehow felt I was underdressed. Men were in their tuxedo. Women wore heels. Since Dexter is a small town, I felt like everyone knows everyone. I also noticed that we were the only Asian women in church that time, but I still felt okay. Thanks to
Bunnies on our plates!Bunnies on our plates!Bunnies on our plates!

There's also a basket of eggs colored with pigment extracted from onion skin
Larry's family who welcomed us warmly.

Second, I heard mass in a beautiful church.

To me, this church is like a Filipino Church. I say this because I've been to many churches in the US before but I've never seen a church with this much statues of saints, like we have back home in the Philippines. Catholic churches here in the US are fairly simple. But this one had a lot of stained glass, and full scenic sculptures of the 12 Stations of the Cross. The altar is filled with so much color! There were tulips, hydranges, and many other flowers which I may not know of. Larry's mom said that these flowers have been watered with blessed water.

My favorite thing about the mass is the Bell Choir. The choir was a group of ladies in their 50s (or above). They were all in white long-sleeved blouses and had gold scarves neatly tied around their necks. They each had bells on their hands and follow notes as they play the instrument. As if that was not enough, a few of them played the Xylophone in sync with the bells.

Third, we ate blessed food!

We had a breakfast like no other. The food we ate were all blessed! We had scrambled eggs with blessed ham, sausage, blessed slices of bread, blessed hash potatoes, blessed strawberries, pineapple, even ketchup and horseradish! We had grape juice, which was also blessed.

Larry's mom does a lot of crafts, no wonder the table setting is impressive. (Well, atleast for me.) She folded table napkins into cute easter bunnies!! She also molded butter into a lamb by hand. It was so pretty.

Fourth, I did some Origami!

Thanks to Larry's mom, I learned how to do some Origami. I think the last time I did one was in grade school! Haha! Well, first she taught us how she made bunnies with table napkins -- which is not really origami -- which I am not sure of so please feel free to correct me. She also taught us how to make chicken with paper. And... our chickens lay eggs! Haha!



Again, thanks to Luisa, Larry, and his family for sharing with us this wonderful experience.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

If you think I made the striped chicken...If you think I made the striped chicken...
If you think I made the striped chicken...

... you're right. At some point it looked more like a rattle snake than a chicken... hehe! Origami is fun!
Downtown DexterDowntown Dexter
Downtown Dexter

Isn't it beautifully quaint?
Downtown DexterDowntown Dexter
Downtown Dexter

I like that huge old fashioned clock by the street
The American FlagThe American Flag
The American Flag

in Downtown Dexter


12th April 2007

pictures
Good job. I love seeing the pictures and really enjoyed your visit. Love, Mom
18th April 2007

@mom O'Toole
Thanks Mom O'Toole! Thanks so much!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb