The times they are a changin'


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Ann Arbor
April 9th 2006
Published: April 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Is anybody else out there as obsessed with the new jingle for from the folks over at JELL-O Incorporated?? Oh you know, "jiggle it 'n' wiggle it", with the little boy doing a jazz step with the cow? Wow, they've got a winner on their hands. If I'm lucky enough to catch the commercial in the morning before work it really puts stride in my step. I hear Grammy....😊

So Sarah's 24th birthday was two Wednesdays ago, and we celebrated with a little kereoke in St. Louis. Now usually, I'm pretty confident in the tunes I tackle, but lemme tellya. Against my better judgement, Sarah requested I sing her a Jason Mraz diddy. THE VERY WALLS OF THE INSTITUTION OF KEREOKE CAME CRUMBLING DOWN BEFORE ME. I left with my tail between my legs, but you know what? To SUCK at something feels rather refreshing. In fact, I welcome it. If only there were more I sucked at.

BUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

Anyway, what else? OH! Spring is upon us I believe. A bit of a violent change I'll admit, but one with beautiful results. The fabric of the atmosphere is swirling and exploding with the molecular grace of a caterpillar. In place of the overcast skies, browns and whites are blues, greens, pinks, yellows, and rainbows with a dash of lightning. However if I were to watch the weather channel all the time, I'd be freaking out myself. By the grace of God we have escaped most of the sensationalistic episodes you all must catch on the evening news. phew!

I'm jazzed for this upcoming week, for there isn't a day that we perform less than twice. Most days we have three shows, and it's a nice variety, too.

Do yourself a favor: WATCH "BIG LOVE" ON HBO. It's captivating and....frankly....flawless.

So how about this business about this newly discovered scripture of Judas? What a way to rock the house just before Easter! Haha, life is funny. I find it interesting myself, but find it irritating when news stations take street polls asking "Do you believe these writings are genuine?" or "Do you believe Jesus asked Judas to turn him in?". C'mon! The few facts we DO have are released for a few measily hours and you want the as yet uneducated masses to form an opinion?! It's really hilarious to hear the responses in the midwest, too. Hi, BIBLEBELT. And I'll say this too. I've taken the habit of really questioning where my information comes from; the sources, how many filters (language translations, generations, possible motives, etc.). So here's my point: The "Primetime Special Report" which carried the story mentioned that only about 25 living people truly understand the language these scriptures were written in. I don't even need to spell it out, but I will. Wouldn't it be really easy for a group of 25 lads and lasses to steer or systematically monopolize the global understanding of this little historic souvenir? Personally, it doesn't matter whether or not I believe because I'll spend the rest of my life questioning their authenticity. Aye me!

Enough of that. I'm on the last leg of the tour (3 weeks) and am missing home SO very much. Sarah and I have been watching commercials by the California tourism board longingly, and with an overdue sense of Pride. Not that things are so bad out here that home looks better, no no no. Seeing a bit of the world has simply enriched my appreciation and understanding of where my roots are. And so I recall that comforting and oft underestimated saying:

Dorothy 1:14 "There's no place like home."


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

CamelCamel
Camel

This poor guy was cagedoutside of a hunting store!
Also cagedAlso caged
Also caged

Don't know this guy's name, but who would do this!
LlamasLlamas
Llamas

"Ey dude, I'll buy if you run for some Starbucks."
Angels, right?Angels, right?
Angels, right?

Back in Ann Arbor


11th April 2006

Marquiz! You old sonuvabitch, you really need to do a better job of making sure your pals are in the know. Do you know how I found this blog? I was creep stalking randoms on myspace and you happened to be someone's friend. I clicked on it, went to your journal entries and ended up with some understanding of what the hell it is that you are doing. And I gotta say, I am jealous. Good for you, you are really doing something worthwhile and I know that you must getting a lot out of it. Sure beats moving to some Midwest state and working at the same restaurant that you worked in at home...like someone I know. But, anyway, glad you are enjoying yourself. I only wish I could be a part of the same experience. Don't be such a recluse, you Boo Radley.
20th April 2006

I miss you
*tear* I miss you so much.. today espcially and i dont know why today of all days.. but I do I miss you desperatly!
24th April 2006

still having fun?
Hey Markuz, I really enjoyed reading all your blog entries. WOW, what a life experience your having!! Grandma is here visiting and says,"hugs and kisses". I hope your still having fun on your trip. Too bad you didn't get to drive all the way up to the north east... Well, love you and we are all proud of you. Me

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb