Only a few days left before I leave


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Ann Arbor
January 29th 2008
Published: January 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Saying my last good-byes



It's been nice taking time this past month to see many important people and having the time to catch up on their lives before leaving. I've been pretty lucky to not have to work for the short time I've had off to be able to do this. Whenever I visit Ann Arbor, I love walking around seeing everything, enjoying just being there, especially without everyday stresses of school work and extracurriculars. I'm able to sit down somewhere, including my favorite place on campus, and read a book. Yes, I like going to Ann Arbor just to read a book. 😊

I went to my grandparent's house a couple of days ago and had the last get together with my family before I leave on Friday. Lol, some of my family still think that I'm going to live in the jungle, with native tribes, or even near the Middle East. "Africa" sounds so foreign, so uncivilized, so unlike the cushy Mid-West.

I've been sure to take my camera everywhere I went, so I could take pictures of home to post on my walls of my very own bedroom in Cape Town. Yes, all the walls in the room will be mine, which I'm very excited about. I'll have my own room within a house with 14 other people in it. I know, yikes! It sounds like a lot. Almost like I'll be in a real fraternity, not a fake, honor one (I love Phi Sigma Pi, so stop making fun of it 😱 ). And I found out today that another friend from UofM will be living in the same house as me- so I'll know at least someone there. I've had a couple of girls from UofM that have studied at UCT last winter semester give me some advice about the city and about living in the house, itself. So, I'm really thankful to know already how far of a walk I have to the shuttle to campus, which grocery stores are the best, how the washing machine might ruin my clothes, the code to the security alarm with buttons all over the house that look like doorbells, and of course the advice to not worry so much and have fun (while still being safe, of course).

I hear that a lot. "Be careful." "It's not safe there." "Jamie, you're going to AFRICA, don't get eaten by a lion." Now, I'm not too worried about getting eaten by a lion...until those days I'll be in Kruger National Park, but the truth is that people need to be careful anywhere they are. There are so many murders, even on local college campuses, that are covered up and not spoken about. There is more risk in getting into a car accident than my plane ride. Living in Cape Town will not be the same as living in Ann Arbor. My roommates and I must walk together to and from campus, not take public transportation at night. I can't carry a lot of money or valuable items on me most times. My cellphone can't leave my pocket, I can't wear a lot of flashy jewelry (that will be a hard one for me), etc. I'm sure I'll get some great safety tips from my international student orientation next week.

Well, I should probably go and start packing (or at least think about it). I will have to bring my sunscreen, hiking boots, my new dry bag (white water rafting would be awesome!), my goofy looking wide-brimmed safari hat, my camera, clothes for summer, autumn, and winter, and the list goes on. I'm wondering what their grocery and convenience stores are like and what kinds of products I will have to live without (isn't that so American of me?). I'll give you an update of that after I figure it out.

I will have to leave it at that until later, much later: I will be out exploring Cape Town and will have to get back to this whenever I get the chance.

P.S. I'm really going to miss free internet...I'm addicted. This trip might be good for me to not be so dependent.

Advertisement



30th January 2008

Tear
Oh man, I'm gonna miss you so much!!!! It was sooo good seeing you today for two seconds...I'm sry I couldn't chat, those girls are meannnnn, but watev, we had a date already :) I just wanted to say have a safe flight and hope the packing is going great. I'm def calling you before u leave, but just thought I'd add a comment as well. I can't wait to hear all about Africa! ~Avanti
1st February 2008

I miss you James! and I hope that everything goes well, I know it will! I hope the next 5 months are some of the best in your life:) love you Julia

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb