June 11 Tom Leonard Lean-to, MA to Upper Goose Pond Cabin, MA 21.6 miles


Advertisement
Published: June 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After closing yesterday there were four more hikers that came to the lean-to. A father and son plus two other young men. All walking in just after we had doused the fire and had gotten snuggled into our bags. Seems I was not alone in the "Trip, Stumble and Fall AT Olympics." All these guys had problems. The son had broken one trekking pole and blown the side of his backpack wide open. My scraped knee was a minor tale compared to what I listened to laying there in my bag. Everyone turned in by 9PM. I slept the sleep of the dead until about 2AM when movement in the tent woke me. I had those wonderful ear plugs in and was effectively deaf. CC was shinning her headlamp at something outside. Pulling the plug out I could hear mister mouse having a grand time in someone’s pack. Ours were safe (hanging from the mouse proof cords) and away from the offending noise. Once we knew our gear was OK it was plugs in and lights out.

5:30 came quick and CC was not in the best of moods about the early call. We had 21.6 miles to get done before dark with a couple of major climbs in the mid section of the day. All the people who stayed at the lean-to last night were headed for the Goose Pond Cabin. Breakfast was quick packing quicker, on the trail by 7.

Rain was falling lightly as we walked up the trail. CC had her jacket on I was in my shirt only. Wet from rain or sweat is still wet. The first five miles went fast and we took a break at the South Wilcox Lean-to. We managed to catch all four people who had started before us this morning much to our surprise. After snacks and a short rest off to the races again. D was walking with us for about 10 minutes then said he needed to stop for a nature call. We never saw him again today. He must have set up his tent along the trail, it's 9PM and he has not made the cabin yet. We caught the young guys once more today this time they were the surprised ones. We climbed 3,967' in total today, not sure of the down side. My altimeter only tracks the total gain. We were passed by one hiker "Shark Tooth" who had camped three miles south of our lean-to.

CC has had me walking point most of the year. She did the first two years as it was easier to keep her pace for me if I follow. I have a tendency to just zone off and walk away slowly. Today after the first break she took the lead. She wanted to control our speed so she didn't get burned out too soon. What a difference three summers on the trail makes! She has turned into quite the hiker. I had to pay attention so she didn't walk away from me. I am so proud of her and her walk. No matter what the weather, terrain or distance she is up to the task. There might be a little comment here or there about things, but in the end the walk is completed. Today after 21 miles she was still going strong. Yes both of us had sore feet and backs, however the pace she finished with was the same she started with. Climbing the last 1,000' mountain she was over half way up the thing before she stopped for a quick breather. Then she charged the rest of the way to the top no problem.

We made the cabin just after 6PM, 11 total hours after starting. We took four breaks in that time, so I figure we managed to average 2mph walking speed for the 21.6 miles! We passed through some very lush forest today and took a number of stills and video clips. I have yet to get the comments you all have posted on that site, but my daughter-in-law saw there are many positive comments. I know you will enjoy these when I send them in. All five hikers who were ahead of us today were here at the cabin already cooking supper. Two section hikers were also here staying. There are 17 beds upstairs so room was not a problem. We got settled in and supper was made. We sat around talking until well after dark. I'm finishing this blog the next morning.

I'm sitting at the dining table while the caretaker is in the kitchen cooking pancakes for all! Coffee is brewing and the hikers are packing. Today we have 18.1 miles to go. The pancakes in addition to oatmeal will see us well on our journey today

Patrick, Deborah Mooney aka OD & CC
All Who Wander Are Not Lost

For Photos and Video: http://odandccslongwalk.shutterfly.com/

OD and CC have been marking their path with a GPS using SPOT Satellite Messenger and can be tracked at the following link. It keeps track of their last 7 days: http://tinyurl.com/o2g53z


Advertisement



Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb