$1500 Cape Cod Challenge Day 7: Kennedy Compound


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Day 7 was the last full day of our vacation before we start travelling home. I was determined to get to see the JFK Museum (on the inside today). Also, while looking through the Kids on the Cape travel magazine (found in local store foyers) I came across a coupon for the HyLine Harbor Sightseeing Cruise. Usually the cost of the cruise is $14/adults and $7/children. The coupon said kids ride free and $2 off adult admission. With three kids, I thought that was a great deal. So even though I hadn't originally planned on doing this excursion, I decided to fit it in.

The big draw to the Harbor Sightseeing Cruise is it's really your best shot of seeing the Kennedy Compound if that sort of thing interests you. Their home is secluded and can't be seen from the street so going out by boat will give you the best view. I happen to be one of those people who is fascinated by history, so seeing the Kennedy Compound was right up my alley.

Good thing we had a coupon, because although I was enthralled, this trip held absolutely no interest for my husband or kids. While I was up on the bow of the ship leaning over the edge with my binoculars, my husband was inside the boat using his cell phone. The kids were sitting next to him playing games. The cost of admission was well worth it to me, though. I was a little disappointed that the Kennedys didn't come outside and personally invite me in, but I still had a fantastic time.

After the one hour harbor cruise, we headed down to the JFK Museum. I've heard this museum described on the internet as a "bit of a snooze." But again, for me it was very interesting. I wasn't planning on subjecting my kids to this experience though. I told them they could go eat lunch with Daddy while I was in the museum, but my middle son wanted to come along. The museum is small and we were able to linger over everything and be done within a half hour to 40 minutes. There is a short (10min.) video that plays continuously and talks about JFK and his history in Hyannisport. There are also lots of pictures of the Kennedys at their home. I found them particularly interesting because they are photos that I don't ever remember seeing published in magazines before.

I kept my son occupied by having him find President Kennedy in every shot. He did really well in there with me, but I can see that this experience wouldn't be enjoyable for most children. The museum must agree, because admission is free for any child under 10.

It was the end of the week and the family was exhausted. My huband wanted to take a nap and the kids just wanted to play toys so I dropped them off at the condo and took advantage of my freedom.

I decided to ride around the area and see and try things I hadn't done yet. I made it over to Four Seas Ice Cream which I'd read was one of the best homemade ice cream places on the Cape. I was surprised by the amount of ice cream people were carrying out of this place. Four Seas sells your typical cone and also sells it's ice cream by the pint. People were carrying out grocery bags full of this stuff. I had a chocolate shake and it tasted like....a chocolate shake. I guess you have to try one of their exotic flavors to understand what the big deal is.

I also decided to splurge and try some seafood at Baxter's Boathouse takeout on the harbor. I've decided that the harbor in Hyannis was my favorite place to be which is why I kept making my way back down there. From Baxters I ordered the crab meat roll ($11.99). It was delicious and worth every penny. I got my huband a fish fry to take home and he said he liked it better than the one at Clancy's.

We spent the evening packing up. Saturday we leave and we'll swing by Plimoth Plantation one more time before heading back to Buffalo.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb