$1500 Cape Cod Challenge Day 8: Plimoth Plantation, Mayflower 2, and heading home


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, we're in the car driving back to Buffalo as I type my last few entries. My husband hooked up the laptop to his cell phone so I could feed my internet obsession during the 8 1/2 hour ride home.

This morning we checked out of our condo by 10am. I took parting pictures like I promised and posted them under "Accommodations."

After check out we headed back to Plimoth Plantation. I think I mentioned earlier that you get a two day pass for the cost of admission. What I didn't realize last Saturday is the pass is supposed to be for two consecutive days. I noticed that fine print written on the ticket last night when we were planning our final day.

I decided to call customer service and explain the situation. Thankfully I got someone on the phone who said it would be ok if we used our second day of admission a week after the first one. Chalk that up to another reason why I love that place.

Since we'd already seen the Pilgrim settlement, today we checked out the Wampanoag Indian site. I am really impressed with Plimoth Plantation. I think they've done an excellent job with their exhibits. We also saw a short video in the main building about the Pilgrims and Native Americans that held the attention of everyone including my youngest. There was a fascinating display on Thanksgiving traditions and how they've changed through time.

Finally, we drove over to the Plymouth waterfront area to see the Mayflower II exhibit which is a recreation of the Mayflower ship. Like Plimoth Plantation, there are actors aboard in Pilgrim costumes who speak to you "in character." Plymouth Rock is in that area too.

In all we spent an additional 2 1/2 hours at the Plimoth Plantation exhibits. By 3pm we were on the road heading home.



Advertisement



12th July 2007

Great Job!!
I have just read your journals and want to thank you for sharing and giving me an insight into the Cape. My children are older teens but they are still coming with us this summer. So you have given us a lot of ideas and suggestions. Thank you for sharing!! You sounded like you had a lot of fun so I am getting excited about our holiday!!!

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb