Portland


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine » Portland
August 25th 2023
Published: August 25th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Portland, MainePortland, MainePortland, Maine

Beautiful sunny day.
The sky is a cloudless blue, gulls hang out and it 6:30 a.m. breakfast is a 7:30 so I am on the veranda enjoying a cup of coffee. After breakfast, I intend to explore. It’s been many years since I was on the Zaandam.



Portland is a busy port. Two ferries have arrived, the line handlers are busy securing the ship, a plane just landed and the gangway is going up. There is construction going on too.



One thing I notice is that there are areas of the ship that are dark. The antiques are medieval, the focal point in the atrium is a huge organ four floors tall. Then in contrast there a signed guitars by rock stars on one wall, another wall has ancient masks.



The Crow’s Nest is perfect. Comfortable chairs, a circular bar, a perfect place to enjoy the view of settle down with a book. Which brings up another plus, the library. Some of the most comfortable chairs on board are in the library, not to mention tons of books and giant tables for jigsaw puzzle freaks.



I dined alone the first night but
St John, New BrunswickSt John, New BrunswickSt John, New Brunswick

A foggy, rainy day in Canada
asked to share last night. Interesting mix. There were to radiologists, not related, the chair of a non profit that creates hydroponic gardens in poor neighborhoods to provide healthy food options for the residents. Finally a husband and wife who are retired Chicago police officers. The conversation centered on sonograms and gardening.



I had a delicious beef fillet and my cinnamon ice cream. Perfect.



The music onboard disappoints. A dance band in the Ocean Bar, a piano bar in the mix and a classical pianist most evenings. I miss the Rolling Stone Rock Room on the newer ships.



As I was dozing off the fog horn sounded. A slept well and since we lost an hour during the night, I was in a deep sleep when my breakfast came. There was thick fog covering St. John, then gray skies. I had no tours planned so I will stay on board and read.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.588s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.3764s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb