Off to Canada


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine » Portland
August 25th 2023
Published: August 25th 2023
Edit Blog Post

From the taxi Travel is more stressful than it used to be. Booked a business class seat for my train ride to Boston. Unfortunately that is the last car on the train. Still, I managed. If all goes according to plan, the conductor will lift my suitcase from the overhead and a Red Cap will help me to the taxi stand for a 30 minute ride to the ship.



The Business Class car was the furtherest from the station and the Red Cap earned his tip today, it was a very long train. All went as planned but the cabbie soaked me $20. Still I was off the train and in my room by 2:00. Bit knackered as I got up at six thirty but went to the Captains welcome party, sans Captain who may have been napping as I should have been.



Dined alone on trout and a seafood cocktail, plus a glass of Chardonnay. Meal rating c, though the potatoes were good. Time to rest. I probably won’t stay awake for the Republican Debate. Wonder if anyone else besides Christie will have the balls to tackle Trump. Tomorrow is Portland, Maine. Maybe I’ll find a lobster roll.



Strange night. Went right to bed but tossed and turned all night. The sea is glass and we’re traveling at only 8 knots so there is motion at all. Might as well be docked.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1002.4kb