The Big Easy


Advertisement
Published: June 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

New Orleans was one of my favourite cities I've been to so far, despite it being one of the most dangerous places I'll visit. I really liked the bars there (even though drinks are all ridiculously expensive), and it's easy to navigate and just generally a cool place. The hostel itself was OK, though the atmosphere was awesome and everyone there was great, so I actually really enjoyed my stay there. Not sure what to write because I didn't really do much except wander around and explore in the day (or lounge back at the hostel - they had a pool, even if it was of questionable cleanliness), then hit the town at the night. New Orleans is home to the famous Bourbon Street, known for it's non-stop partying (I almost bought a T-Shirt which said "I got Bourbon-faced on Shit Street"), and in January, for Mardi Gras. It's also the birth place of Jazz, though I managed to somehow spend 3 days there without hearing any. I spent most of the time hanging out with 2 really cool (I need to learn some new adjectives - awesome and cool are getting old) British girls (who had just spent a year studying abroad in California) but met a ton more cool/awesome people too, including a ton of Australians and quite a few friendly Brits. I'm in Austin, Texas at the moment, but haven't really done anything here yet so I'll save that blog entry for when I'm leaving.

Bye for now! (Pictures hopefully to come at some point)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb