Texas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin
June 27th 2010
Published: July 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So originally the place I was going to visit in Texas was Dallas. Since I've been in the US and talked to various people, everyone has told me to not go to Dallas, but to go to Austin. So I did. Austin is like a liberal island in a conservative state, and it has good public transport and a great music scene. Basically it was obvious I'd enjoy it more than going to Dallas or Houston or wherever else I could've gone. I stayed in Austin for a few days and didn't actually do that much, but I enjoyed it nontheless. I saw a bit of live music, but only amateur bands playing in bars and not actually any shows. I bumped into quite a few people at the hostel that I met in New Orleans, which was cool, but I met lots more great people too.

There was a communal guitar and piano at the hostel, so I spent alot of time playing those and catching up on my fix of music-making. Had a really fun jam session with a guy called Alex from New York who moved to Austin especially for the music scene. As for the night life it was kinda similar to New Orleans in that the main place people go to (in Austin's case - 4th avenue) is really busy and loud and touristy. I went there with an Israeli/Canadian guy and an Australian girl who I met in New Orleans, and had a good night out anyway. Also got sunburnt for the first time (excluding my neck/shoulders which I burnt in Florida) and I was virtually glowing red for the next few days, but it didn't really hurt so it's all good!

Yeah, so Austin was cool, and I've got some pictures but it'll be a while before I can upload them 😞

Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb