First Day on the Bike...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky
September 4th 2007
Published: September 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Day 1

Blairsville, GA to Jenny Wiley St. Resort Park, KY

Georgia Driving the BikeGeorgia Driving the BikeGeorgia Driving the Bike

Georgia Driving the Bike in the Barn
Thank you to my Uncle Herbie for helping get the bike ready. Thank you to Mike at Motor Sports in Blairsville, Ga for some electrical wiring. Goodbye beautiful Blairsville, GA and hello the freedom of the open road.

Left GA in the AM. Road fast through the Southern Appalachians. Could have drove some of the roads in my sleep. North GA, Western Carolina, Eastern Tennessee are still some of the best places on the East Coast. Did my usual reading of the pentecostal, snake-handling, church billboards through the bible belt. They get good on the backroads. One day I want to make a picture book of them all.

Drove up to Asheville and then to Johnson City. Crossed the Appalachian Trail at Sam's Gap. Then moved on into Eastern Kentucky on US 23.

Trying to find a beer for camp the first proved to be an adventure in Eastern Kentucky backroads. Good ole Southern backwardness. I was striking out at another convience store when I began to talk to a trucker. He showed my his Honda Goldwing picture told me how proud he was of it. Even said his wife likes to ride it with him. All this
Thanks to our Sponsors...Thanks to our Sponsors...Thanks to our Sponsors...

Thank you to our sponsors...
while he had on his Jesus Christ Superstar mesh net hat. I was desparete for that cold beer so I succumbed to ask him where I might find one. He sent my down the road to the next town.

Upon arrival at something that resembled a state liquor store, I was relieved to find a Fosters Oil Can. A young girl was in a Kentucky Blue Devils shirt was talking about her great grandma. Only in Eastern Kentucky, Alabama, West Virginia do people know their great grandparents. I barely knew my grandparents.

Finally set up camp a state park for $12. Had everything except a fork. Had to eat with my toothbrush. Thank you Susie and Dr. Meadows, I put your brush to good use.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Isabell in All Her Glory!Isabell in All Her Glory!
Isabell in All Her Glory!

Isabell in All Her Glory!
Leaving the GarageLeaving the Garage
Leaving the Garage

Steve & Isabell Leaving the Garage for the Open Road!
First Night DinnerFirst Night Dinner
First Night Dinner

Thank you Dr. Meadows Office...


Tot: 0.344s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 75; dbt: 0.2805s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb