A visit with Ginger in Louisville


Advertisement
Published: May 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


May 12, Tuesday

Fruit for breakfast and on the way after a lazy get ready. Low clouds threatened me with rain much of the day, but the most I got was a little light misting. I stopped for a great pulled pork barbeque sandwich somewhere in Arkansas, and chatted with a H/D guy and the owner for a bit. Later on I stopped to troubleshoot my music hookup, because it was driving me crazy with the volume going up and down. I removed the filter and that solved it. Must be a bad connection somewhere in the leads going to or from the filter. In the meantime, an old guy on an old Ural side-car rig stopped to see if I needed help. We had a nice chat about some of his riding on the Ural. Once on the road again the clouds lifted a bit an I had a reasonable nice ride on into Memphis, TN. Just on the east side of town I stopped for the night at a Motel 6, across the street from a Bass Pro Shop where I picked up more fuel for the stove. I asked the desk clerk if I could walk there, and got a resounding, " It's way too far". I looked out the window and thought, it can't be that far. It was about a 10 minute walk. What a sad state that in the United States, a 10 minute walk is way too far. Tomorrow the chance of rain across my route is about 40%. I guess we'll see.

May 13, Wednesday

On the road and heading toward Louisville KY. I stayed off the interstates and had a great ride to Murray KY where I stopped for a fruit and coffee lunch at a picnic table on the courthouse lawn. It's a very pretty little town. I hopped on a parkway and finished the ride to Louisville via Elizabethtown and Interstate 65. My visit with Ginger, Mark and their daughter Sophie was fun. Weather was cloudy but great for riding all day.

May 14, Thursday

Today was a non-ride day, I spent it visiting with Ginger, a trip to the local playground, and a trip to a real outdoor gear store where I bought some needed gear.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb