Darkness, T-Storms and bad pavement! 63 miles, 1500’


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas
June 24th 2018
Published: June 25th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Today was far from boring!

For some reason I tossed and turned all night and finally threw in the towel about 4am; had a quick corn flake breakfast and hit the road.

I have good front and rear blinkers, so there was no danger of not being seen. Besides, I was the only one on the road,

It was actually quite fun, peddling along in the dark. I rode right by a grazing deer, and only at the last minute did he see me and sprint off into the woods.

I did get chased by two dogs who were defending their homes. Nobody is supposed to be out there that early!

The sunrise was beautiful and I also got to watch a tremendous light show since I was riding right into a line of thunderstorms. Finally, when the count between the flashes and the cracks became two seconds apart, I decided I had better take cover!

I found a closed convenience store and hid on their porch for about an hour watching the rain pounding down all around me. Finally, I continued on my way. From that point on it was light rain and then clearing skies for the rest of the day.

The biggest problem with leaving that early was finding a place to take a break and have a snack.

I was able to do that at 42 miles with only another 20 to go to Eureka where I am right now.

The roads were mostly in disrepair today which is the first time I have encountered that since I left Virginia.

I did beat the winds for the most part today but tomorrow they are predicted to really kick up out of the SW early in the morning.

I’m going to approach it like climbing another mountain.

We will see how it goes.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Miles of grazingMiles of grazing
Miles of grazing

This is the Bluestem Pasture Region of Kansas better known as the Flint Hills. A sign said this half million acres is the last remaining true prairie region of the United States. Each year over one million cattle are shipped here for fattening grazing on this nutrious grass.


25th June 2018

Et tu Brute?
The winds are so bad here at Lake Myvatn that I am taking my first bus for about a 100 miles today. Iceland is not for beginners or rational people on bicycles.
25th June 2018

Hello again from your Illinois cousin
Hi Bob! Just wanted to check in again. It is so great to follow your ride. It is sooooo much better to click on your updates in the morning than the news! : ) The pictures are awesome!!!!! You are finding beauty at every mile! During my last drive across Kansas (many years ago) my friend and I had to pull over because a tumble weed got stuck to the front of our car, so watch out! : ) With Love, your cousin Heidi
26th June 2018

Hi Heidi
I’m glad you are enjoying my blog. Hope we cousins can all get together again one day. Bob

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb