It’s all about the Winds!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Chanute
June 23rd 2018
Published: June 23rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Mostly flat roads todayMostly flat roads todayMostly flat roads today

Very little traffic. Mostly pickup trucks
The topography here has changed dramatically.

Kansas is wide open. So far it is nothing but huge farms and very gently rolling hills. I climbed only 1050 feet in 59 miles today.

I can already tell Kansas is going to be all about the winds.

The prevailing winds are southerly. Today, after a quick goodby to Bruce, I was out the door early and arrived at Chanute at 11:30, just before the winds really started blowing.

I think there are going to be a lot of early days because the forcast seems to be mostly from the southwest in the afternoon. 12-15 knots of big crosswinds makes it a tough grind.

The riders traveling east talk about the winds also. It really doesn’t seem either direction is any better.

On another subject:
Several have asked what my post ride routine is like.

As soon as I arrive, it is time to plug in the electronic devices, front and rear blinkers, bike computer and phone.

Then I jump in the shower and do my laundry. I usually wash out my cycling gear in the shower or sink and hang it up to let it dry.

Often it takes the hair dryer to get them dry before the next day.

Then it’s time to check the weather and plan the next day.

Here in Kansas, the Convenience Stores are rare, so I need to make sure I don’t miss them. Most importantly it is essential to keep the water bottles full of cold water.

When the temperature is up, the water disappears very quickly. I absolutely do not want to run out.

Finally I need to find food. Often a decent restaurant is 1/2 mile or more from the lodging, so one has to decide to walk or ride the bike. Usually walking is my first choice.

And finally it’s time to write the blog which I find therapeutic. It’s a great way to return to the highlights of the day.

Early to bed and early to rise for awhile.

Until tomorrow.




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Mission NeoshoMission Neosho
Mission Neosho

This was the first mission/ Indian Schoolhouse in Kansas. It was first built in 1824. Built for the Osage tribe. The school failed to attract students. Most of the tribe revolted and the Mission was not successful.


25th June 2018

Hey Bob! Loving the blogs and follow all your adventures. I too was curious about your daily routine so I particularly enjoyed this one. Kansas has the reputation of being flat but it sounds like it has wind to make up for it!
25th June 2018

Hi Steve
Great to hear from you! I think about you and the RV gang often. I can’t wait to be back at the beach drinking an IPA. I have almost quit drinking beer because it is so hard to find a good one. I know when I get to Colorado that will change for the better.

Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb