I wish I was riding East! 73 miles, 2000 feet


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Newton
June 25th 2018
Published: June 25th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Okay, I won’t lie to you.

This was the toughest day I have ever had on a bike!

This was the day I realized riding the Trans Am is the most difficult undertaking I have ever participated in!

I have done two Marathons, five Death Rides, and countless Century’s but none were more draining than today.

My knees hurt, and my whole body is sore!

I mentioned two days ago that it was all about the winds! Well today, Mother Nature was not kind to people riding West on a bicycle!

I rode 73 miles into a Westerly wind blowing 15 knots, gusting to 23. I had to grip the handlebars with full force and concentration every time a truck passed just to keep from being blown off the road!

The wind is relentless! It doesn’t quit. Normally you can take a little brake by coasting. When you climb a mountain you get to enjoy coasting back down! But riding into strong headwinds requires grinding away at the pedals every second. And when a gust hits one almost comes to a standstill!

I’ll take Palomar Mountain any day! Give me Haleakala! How about Everest!

As we sometimes said in the Navy: “The Fun-meter was pegged at Zero!”

I’ll admit I was feeling sorry for myself until I realized how lucky I am! I’m healthy enough to do something crazy like this! I have a great family, great friends and could quit any time I want! ( Not that I am considering it!)

Not so with the many First Responders and Veterans who are dealing with life changing injuries every day of their lives.

If you are sitting on the couch with your favorite beverage reading this, how about doing me a favor and donate whatever you can afford to Project Hero. It is a great charity doing wonderful work. I made them a commitment and have a long way to go.

To donate: copy and paste this into your browser.

http://r2r.convio.net/coast2coast

Thank You





Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Not a tree in sight.Not a tree in sight.
Not a tree in sight.

Note the crumbling gravel like road. This was the road for most of the day. Very taxing and when a truck passed rocks went flying!


26th June 2018

Hang in there
Wow, what a miserable day! I feel for you man and I am missing the action....not sure about Kansas though. I am working on a rejoin 7-30-8-12 flying out of Medford, Or on 8-13. Lots of moving parts including skipping Prineville and riding to Medford in order to fly back on 8-13. Lodging is problematic in some locations, as you know and just joined warm showers to research. Following the current schedule as written with July 30 fly in to Missoula. I will continue to research the lodging with dates as listed unless changes are in order, so please advise. Hope tomorrow is better for you!!
27th June 2018

Pictures
Your pictures and comments are great!
27th June 2018

Hi Ski
Wow it’s good to hear from you Champ! It’s nice to know somebody is reading my ramblings. Doon

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0869s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb