It's beginning to look a lot like a picture perfect winter


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Iowa
December 9th 2007
Published: December 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A Winter WonderlandA Winter WonderlandA Winter Wonderland

It's so perfect I feel like I'm walking through a painting.
I feel like I'm being blessed this year with perfect Iowa weather as a reward for coming home. This fall was gorgeous with mild weather holding out through November. Now, this winter is shaping up to be a beautiful, snow-filled one. Iowa doesn't always get snow in early December but we've had a few snowfalls so far and they have turned the world into a winter wonderland. Last Thursday we received about 4 inches and then last night and this morning we've had just enough to settle on top of the old snow and make everything look frosty-fresh again. It's setting on top of the tree branches just like a painting. The views on my drive into town this morning were stunning, so I snapped a few pictures for all of you to enjoy.

I mentioned previously that I have taken a job as Library Director at a small town library. I love everything about the job, even the agony of deciding which books to buy with my limited budget. (It's agony because there are so many books that I have to reject even though I'm sure they are fabulous reads!) One of my favorite tasks of the job is
CowsCowsCows

The neighbors' cows were out chillin' in the snow.
decorating the bulletin boards and window. Small libraries like mine can't afford to buy fancy decorations for our displays, so I have to put it all together myself (with the help of the internet where you can find a plethora of creative ideas and clip-art). I take great joy in cutting everything out and seeing the end result. I tell you, give me some construction paper, scissors, and a glue-stick and I'm happy as a clam for hours! Martha Stewart ain't got nothin' on me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Poor little oak treePoor little oak tree
Poor little oak tree

For some reason, our little oak tree never lost her leaves. Even with all the snow weighing them down, those leaves are hanging on.
Downtown AdelDowntown Adel
Downtown Adel

I think the snow gives it extra charm.
Halloween WindowHalloween Window
Halloween Window

This was my first window and I received lots of compliments on it.
Fall Bulletin BoardFall Bulletin Board
Fall Bulletin Board

Ok, it's a little cheesy, but the idea was already in the works when I started. I made the border myself, cutting out all those leaves and gluing them together.
Santa WindowSanta Window
Santa Window

Advertising our "Santa at the Library" event.
Santa Bulletin BoardSanta Bulletin Board
Santa Bulletin Board

Yes, I realize it's missing an apostrophe. Every day I say, "Today I'm going to add the apostrophe." Then I forget.


10th December 2007

Thanks!
Dawn - thanks for coming back to Iowa and this great weather! Your right this has been a great two seasons so far. Great job at the decorations!

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0628s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb