Thanksgiving in 2 Acts


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Iowa
December 1st 2007
Published: December 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me playing Betty CrockerMe playing Betty CrockerMe playing Betty Crocker

It's the apron that really makes the outfit.
Act 1: Thanksgiving Day

It's been years since my family had a traditional Thanksgiving (at least partially due to my becoming a vegetarian as a teenager) and we decided that this wasn't the year to break our tradition of being untraditional. So, on Thanksgiving Day, my sister, my mom, and I gathered to bake Christmas cookies and candies. We had a chance for extra celebration because my sister got engaged the day before! Ahhh, my baby sister is getting married! I'm so excited and happy for her and incredibly impressed because her fiance picked out the ring all by himself and did a wonderful job. (Congratulations, Sis!) We celebrated with Champagne...at 10:00 in the morning. It made for some interesting cookies...

When the 3 of us come together to bake, it's guaranteed to end up with a huge mess in the kitchen. By the time the first cookies came out of the oven, it looked like a bag of flour had exploded. But, we persevered through the flour-choked air and ended up with gingersnaps, candy-cane cookies, peanut butter bon-bons, peanut brittle, and a pumpkin cake. Everything was delicious, although the candy-cane cookies didn't turn out very aesthetically pleasing. (I'd
Cookie DayCookie DayCookie Day

Mom and I ready to start baking. (Jackie said she would come early, but apparently early is 10:00 for her. We started at 8:00.)
chalk it up to the champagne, but I've never been able to make pretty candy-cane cookies. My grandmother can make them perfectly, but it seems I didn't inherit that gene.) My sister, Jackie, decided it was easier to make huge candy-canes (see picture) and I finally decided it was easier to make sticks instead of canes. It doesn't really matter because pretty or ugly, they all taste the same, but no one ever believes that when they peruse the cookie offerings.

Between the champagne and the general holiday cheer, we had a pleasant, giggle-filled day.

Act 2: Saturday

On Saturday, we hosted a Thanksgiving dinner for nine people. I convinced Mom that we needed the following to insure there was enough food for everyone: pot roast, wild rice and mushroom soup, dressing, green bean casserole, squash casserole, mashed potatoes & gravy, corn, cranberry sauce, pineapple-lemon salad, 2 pies, pumpkin cake, and cookies. It was so much fun cooking all morning and trying to figure out how to time everything so it was ready at the same time. Luckily, a lot of the food could be prepared ahead of time and stuck in the oven to finish. Needless
Which one is mine? Which one is Mom's?Which one is mine? Which one is Mom's?Which one is mine? Which one is Mom's?

As I explained to Mom, I decided to make peanut butter bon-bon lumps. And I was successful. Lumps deserve love, too.
to say, we had a lot of leftovers, even after sending some home with everyone! My sister's fiance, Eric, was there and we all got to know him better and welcomed him to the family by letting him mash the potatoes. He did a good job; we're considering assigning it as his permanent holiday job. (Welcome to the family, Eric!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Mom takes chargeMom takes charge
Mom takes charge

Mom didn't like my lumps. She kept fixing them into perfect balls before dipping them in chocolate.
Jackie arrives!Jackie arrives!
Jackie arrives!

Just in time to sample the first cookies out of the oven. Her timing has always been impeccable.
The ringThe ring
The ring

I'm impressed that Eric picked it out by himself. The picture is a bit blurry, unfortunately.
Jackie and IJackie and I
Jackie and I

Oh, sisterly love.
Congratulations Jackie!Congratulations Jackie!
Congratulations Jackie!

Celebrating. We didn't have champagne glasses and had to use wine glasses and figured we may as well use the biggest ones we had.
Mother and daughtersMother and daughters
Mother and daughters

Unfortunately, not a great picture. But, it's the only one we have from the day with all three of us.
Jackie's huge cookiesJackie's huge cookies
Jackie's huge cookies

As she explained, "Larger candy-canes are easier to make than smaller ones."
Thanksgiving at our houseThanksgiving at our house
Thanksgiving at our house

Back row: Jim, Cheryl, Jeff Middle row: Roy, Jay, Eric, Jackie Front row: me, Mom
Eric Mashes the PotatoesEric Mashes the Potatoes
Eric Mashes the Potatoes

He left a few lumps, which makes them perfect.
Roy carves the roast beefRoy carves the roast beef
Roy carves the roast beef

And I just kept thinking of the Grinch where they carve the roast beast.
The foodThe food
The food

So much for just 9 people!


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb