Where the deer, but no antelope, play


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Iowa
January 27th 2008
Published: January 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Deer in the YardDeer in the YardDeer in the Yard

They came out to play and eat our foliage. There is something wonderful about looking out the widow and seeing a family of deer frolicing in your front yard.
I was reminded the other day that I had not updated this blog for a while. I have no real excuse except that it's been so cold, I only want to curl up under a blanket next to the fireplace with a good book. Typing requires extracting my fingers from the warm cacoon. It's been snowy and cold here in Iowa this January. Well, it's always snowy and cold in Iowa in January, but it has seemed particularly harsh this winter. But, the cold hasn't kept the deer away. They came out to play yesterday and spent some time in the front yard eating the flowers and trees and (for the young ones) wrestling. I managed to grab the camera and click a shot just as they were spooked and started running away.

Today the tempurature is suppose to get above freezing, which means one thing: time to wash the car! I'll also have to test the snow to see if it melts just enough to make it sticky and perfect for building a snowman. We haven't had good snowman snow yet this year, so I'm still waiting to partake of that winter tradition.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Cold and SnowyCold and Snowy
Cold and Snowy

Looking out Connie's kitchen window. I house-sat for her and woke up the first morning to 5 inches of fresh snow. I didn't realize how deep it was until I backed the car out of the garage, opened the door to get out to close the garage door, and sunk my foot in up to the top of my ankle. And I wasn't wearing my boots. It was cold and wet.
January's bulletin boardJanuary's bulletin board
January's bulletin board

The Minburn City Clerk blames my bulletin board for all the snow this year. (Thanks, Sarah, for telling me about the magic snowflake patterns online!)


Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0872s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb