Chit Chat Sip & Swirl Fundraiser


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Iowa » Ankeny
March 1st 2010
Published: March 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Greetings everyone! Can it be March already?

I say yes because I'm getting ready for my annual DrakeSmart trip to Europe and I'm ready for the big "countdown" to: Copenhagen, Hamburg, Heidelberg, Stuttgart, Rothenburg, Geneva, Paris, Normandy, Dublin and London. We do all this in 19 days.

I'll preface this trip blog by saying "this is no vacation" in the sense that it's not a leisure trip rather an educational study trip of public policy and people.

So why do I spend 12 days of hard earned vacation with 50 travelers on a motorcoach? Simply put, I love Europe and group travel is very interesting way to travel and network. So here I am again, assisting Dr. C. Ken Meyer in the Comparative Management Public Policy Course "Children and our Future".

This year, I stepped it up by assisting Dr. Meyer with an all day seminar with the help of a great team. With only two months to plan, we were able to secure 16 or so speakers in a variety of topics on childrens' issues. The all day conference was the launching pad to the European travel course.

After many hours of locating programs and speakers, we have eight programs secured, ten plus vistas and some other bonus sights. To read more about our itinerary and information about the course, see .

Two weeks before departure, my friends Carole, Felicia and me hosted the first ever pre-travel event. I termed it "Chit Chat Sip and Swirl" on Feb. 24, 2010. It was a two-fold event, network with fellow travelers and learn a little about wine from the Grapevine and Della G. See my write-up of the evening here
. We had a great time and what a way to begin a trip.

Ten days to go and I'm feverishly getting my work done, cleaning the house and the most important task, packing. I'll write more about packing next week.

I will close by revealing my closing theme for this trip. Simply put, six words.

New Friends, Exciting Vistas, Inspire Others!

Ann Anhalt


Advertisement



Tot: 0.83s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 70; dbt: 0.7201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb