Iowa to Washington DC, Honoring Veterans


Advertisement
Published: November 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Greatest GenerationGreatest GenerationGreatest Generation

Nice to see young kids honoring our veterans
While the globe is celebrating the 20th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall and Sesame Street’s 40th birthday, I will be paying tribute to the millions of men and women who have served/serving in the United States Armed Forces on Veterans Day, November 11, 2009.

I shared this summer of how I ended up in America. What’s more interesting is that four of five of my siblings served in the US Armed Forces, 1975 to 1990. I would love to say it was out of our patriotic duty for America welcoming us to this land of opportunity, but it was the means for a college education. I am proud to say “I am living the American Dream” and I have to thank the US Armed Forces for this awesome opportunity.

First, my brother Anthony served in the US Navy in 1975 and then earned a technical degree at Lincoln Technical Institute and has worked at Amtrak since the 1980s. Brother Larry served in the US Air Force in 1977 and then obtained a four-year degree. I served in the US Air Force in 1978 then obtained an RN Diploma, four-year degree and a masters degree in public
Chanute AFBChanute AFBChanute AFB

Graduation from Tech School, June 1978
administration. Lastly, brother Glen serving in the US Army in the 1980s then earned a four-year degree. Way to go Chee You’s for utilizing the GI Education Bill.

Over the years, I have come to know many individuals that proudly served in the US Armed Forces. Like my husband Rick, his grandfather Joe Anhalt (WW I), Uncle Tom (WW II), cousin Dale and his dad Merlyn (Korean War). Friends Russ R. and Russ W. (Vietnam), John Frier, John Sebern (WW II) and new friends Ambassador Chuck Larson, Kayla B. and Justin S. (all US Army).

A bit of history: the origin of Veterans Day is traced back to the end of WW I, when President Wilson proclaimed November 11th as the first celebration known as Armistice Day with these words “To us in America, the reflections of Armistice Day will be filled with solemn pride in the heroism of those who died in the country’s service and with gratitude for the victory, both because of the thing from which it has freed us and because of the opportunity it has given America to show her sympathy with peace and justice in the councils of the nations…"

The
World War II MemorialWorld War II MemorialWorld War II Memorial

Washington DC WW II Memorial
Armistice Day Act of 1938 made November 11th a legal holiday remembering WW I veterans. After WW II and the Korean War, the Act was amended to replace the word armistice with veterans to honor American veterans of all wars. (Public Law 380). Read more about the history of Veterans Day, .

To honor all veterans, I made a special visit to Washington DC last fall with my dad to visit the Word War II Memorial and the many other memorials. Through my dear friends Julie and Judy, I have come to know their father’s service during WW II. They too celebrated their service with the Honor Flights Program to Washington DC last month to visit the WW II Memorial and the many other war memorials in Washington. Read more here,
and watch this video here, . Salute to Mr. John Sebern and Mr. Frank O'Neill.

Mr. Sebern is a very special marine, from the stories I have heard. He served in the Pacific Islands and was in the battle at Iwo Jima and was present at the raising of the flag at Mt. Suribachi.
. I believe Mr. Serbern is in this picture. To honor his
Honor Flight By John SebernHonor Flight By John SebernHonor Flight By John Sebern

This is one proud US Marine, John Sebern in Washington DC
service, I found an article about Mr. Sebern. He was giving a talk at the local school in Charles City, Iowa (.

Mr. Sebern talking, "photos bring to mind memories of friends made and lost, and a ring on Sebern’s right hand bears a Japanese Loyal Marine. It was placed on my hand in 1943 and it won’t come off till I die,” said the World War II veteran. “It was the first man I ever killed.”

A teacher in the Charles City School District for 34 years, Sebern retired in 1987. He said speaking with students allows him to continue educating. “I try to emphasize the history of it, not the brutality of it,” he said. “I don’t go into the gory parts.”

Like me, he joined the Marines at the age of 17. “I turned 17 in April of 1942, joined the Marine Corps the next day, I shipped out of Des Moines on May 1 — my mother’s birthday — and went to combat for the first time in November 1942,” he said in the article.

In February 1945, Sebern was among the Marines to land at Iwo Jima, a Pacific island where
Honor Flight By John SebernHonor Flight By John SebernHonor Flight By John Sebern

This proud Marine has not lost his touch with the Armed Forces
an intense battle was fought with the Japanese over the next month.“It’s probably the worst mission I’ve ever been on,” Sebern said. “At Iwo, you didn’t get out of your fox hole ever as the first three days (went) by,” he recalled. “Nobody else could get in to help us, the weather turned bad, the volcano rumbled, they shot a big mortar — a 540 — from the other end of the island.

“I was not in fear of dying from being shot or anything ... the thing I was afraid of was the volcano was going to blow up.” When the Marines moved on to Japan in April 1945, Sebern said he found the island better by comparison “I just loved Okinawa because I landed there on my birthday, it was Easter and nobody shot at me,” he said. “We went three days before we were even fired on.”
Here's a clip of the raising of the American Flag at Mt. Suribachi .

Today I will put aside right versus left, republicans versus democrats to honor all Americans that have served and who are serving in the US Armed Forces. Bless their families who support them while
USAF BluesUSAF BluesUSAF Blues

Rick A. in his USAF blues
they are serving.

A Proud US Servicewoman

Ann Anhalt
See Page 2 for more photos


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Honor Flight to Wasington DCHonor Flight to Wasington DC
Honor Flight to Wasington DC

350 WW II Veterans leaving Des Moines to Washington DC
Honor Flight to Washington DCHonor Flight to Washington DC
Honor Flight to Washington DC

350 WW II Veterans leaving Des Moines to Washington DC
Thank You VeteransThank You Veterans
Thank You Veterans

Thank You Veterans
World War II MemorialWorld War II Memorial
World War II Memorial

Washington DC WW II Memorial
World War II MemorialWorld War II Memorial
World War II Memorial

Washington DC WW II Memorial
World War II MemorialWorld War II Memorial
World War II Memorial

Washington DC WW II Memorial
World War II MemorialWorld War II Memorial
World War II Memorial

Washington DC WW II Memorial
World War II MemorialWorld War II Memorial
World War II Memorial

Washington DC WW II Memorial
World War II MemorialWorld War II Memorial
World War II Memorial

Washington DC WW II Memorial
World War II MemorialWorld War II Memorial
World War II Memorial

Washington DC WW II Memorial
World War II MemorialWorld War II Memorial
World War II Memorial

Washington DC WW II Memorial
World War II MemorialWorld War II Memorial
World War II Memorial

Washington DC WW II Memorial
World War II MemorialWorld War II Memorial
World War II Memorial

Washington DC WW II Memorial
World War II MemorialWorld War II Memorial
World War II Memorial

Washington DC WW II Memorial
World War II MemorialWorld War II Memorial
World War II Memorial

Washington DC WW II Memorial


11th November 2009

Thanks Ann
Nice job on your Veteran's Day blog. Thanks for writing about my Dad.
11th November 2009

You never cease to amaze me. Good article and interesting on all your family. Good reading and a job well done.

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0795s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb