Little GEM place in Indianapolis..."Broad Ripple"


Advertisement
Published: May 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Such a cool Place! I love this area! Did I mention "I LOVE THIS AREA OF INDY"? Just in case I needed to make that point stronger. I had no idea such a cool area existed in INDY, for this city its certainly a refreshing gem to find. Its hip and cool with a laid back earthy quality to the area.

We initially went to see exactly what the Monon trail was because i read about it in an article. Which turned out to be a path that allowed for a peaceful stroll or bike ride. Then I found out that the bakery Renee was in Broad Ripple which made it sweeter. This tiny bakery is the closest I have been to comparable reak German styled bakery items. It may be small but there is alot of assortment. We purchased quite a bit of bakery goods, as its my weakness to consume bread and pastries as a food group.

Everyone is super passionate about their little shop or cafe, willing to give you tons of info with a happy to share attitude. For example my hubby stumbled upon a cool bike shop and held a good conversation about qaulity bikes and price values with no pressure or attitude of making a sale. Every store was pet friendly and we saw alot of dogs with owners in them. Which explained a quirky sign displayed in one store front.

Ice cream for your stroll can be found at Brics and they give you a healthy dose of ice cream in your cone, I came across a Blackberry flavor which was tasty! So tasty that as I sat by the river front a very naughty goose kept eyeing my cone and freaked me out when I was departing flew on top the bridge and began to hiss at me. Remind me to eat more goose for the holidays this year! Anyhow we got a good laugh from the situation.

The Pand-a-ology shop was very cool. We found alot of goodies that we could get in S.Korea here. We grabbed some candies and some neat chopstick/fork gadgets for $2.00 a piece. It was so fn to look at everything in this place.

Walking around and getting a whiff of the flowers in bloom was nice initself. Lots of Yoga studios and healthy vegan options. A cross fit studio was in the area too. We saw alot of cool places that looks like they could turn this area into a cool place to hang out at night as well.

We couldnt agree on lunch options and settled for a medditerain place right next to the river across from the 3 sisters cafe. The lunch special menu is incredible. We had a fantastic lunch for 2 at $15.00, we couldn't believe the price since we had huge portions and gourmet freshness too! What a steal...fantastic find.

It was so nice to walk around with the sun out and all the extra friendly people made it extra nice. I believe this is to become my hang out spot for sure while in INDY.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.594s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.5112s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb