August


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Indiana » Fort Wayne
August 2nd 2006
Published: August 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

"Let the world change you...and you can change the world." This is a quote from the movie "Los diarios motocicletas" (Motorcycle Diaries) that which I have chosen to, in a way, be the theme of my experience abroad. Mainly because this quote involuntarily pops up in my head whenever I am thinking of my travel abroad. This quote is so true. Everyone I know that has gone abroad assures me again and again that this will be a life-changing experience. I suppose that is what makes it so alluring, at least to me. I am constantly trying to decipher my life. I have set goals for myself in an attempt to decipher my life. I feel like going to Lima will be another place where I can find myself. This is something I try to encourage others to do. People my age, and even younger, are more and more being trapped in relationships where they know not what love really is, but think they are experts at it. I will not be this person. Love is something that is not a frivolous game. It should not be mistaken for simply temporary feelings. Love is the most POWERFUL anything out there. Yet, not many know of its potential.

I am rambling. Since my corporeal body is not literally placed in Peru right now, I guess I have nothing else to talk about. What I am writing about are close to my heart. They are notions that I have grown to see as truth and thus, have no choice but to live my life according to them. Indeed the truth sets you free. I just want to pray for everyone. With what is going in the Middle East at the present time (and the last hundreds and hundreds of years) things certainly do look bleak. Love and hope is what we need. Prayer is our means to this end. I pray for anyone reading this and all people of the world right now.

The Fountain of Love You are
Spray it here and there, near and far
May we imbibe in the waters of love
As our eyes stare up above

Keep our eyes fixed on the goal
Let our hearts not be troubled
By the perfect pessimist's grin
Build up an immunity to his evil spin

I say that we all have a responsibility
We can change the world and bring peace
I pray that all realize their innate worth
And breath new life in to our earth.

Amen.

"If we have no peace, it is because we have forgotten that we belong to each other."

Mother Theresa



Advertisement



23rd August 2006

Deep
Hey Jake- for some reason, I was just now able to read these journals- 8/22/06. I just wanted to say that I am so impressed by the things you are writing- its very deep and impressionable. I really liked what you had to say on love- it is something that is taken for granted. Ive seen many people think that they are in love and rush decisions that can change their lives. I feel that love is important for our daily living, and it is a wonderful beautiful gift from God. I am happy to say that I have experienced love and even though things didn't work out the way I wanted to, I feel that I am who I am today becuase of it. "Tis better to have loved and lost than to never have loved at all" I hope all is going well down there. miss ya

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb